Buckwheat Cakes

2017 Update: Due to a problem with Photobucket, see here, there will be a lot of recipes without photos. I will be slowly redoing the recipe pages, as best I can, but many other posts will be impossible to replace. I’m doing this in my own time, while continuing to update the blog with new recipes and posts. If you’d like to donate, any amount appreciated, you can do so here. The site will always be free, the recipes will never be locked behind a paywall, but this is a lot of additional work. I’m not demanding or begging, just putting it there so if you feel like repaying my hard work you have that option. I don’t make any money from the site, all that I do here is to help others, I couldn’t charge for that.

Spread with butter and prepare to bake more.

These are just like the oatcakes I once survived on until I realised that the oats  were causing me trouble, that was probably my first step towards understanding histamine intolerance. These are simple to make and they freeze just fine, they’d make a great lunch box filler and are just as tasty plain as with a filling.

From: Here

Ingredients

75g Buckwheat Flour
75g Buckwheat Flakes
1/2 Tsp Salt
40ml Extra Virgin Olive Oil
25-75ml Boiling Water
5 Twists Coarsely Ground Black Pepper

Makes 8 Buckwheat Cakes. Can be frozen.

Method

1. Add all the dry ingredients to a bowl and shake together, then mix in the Oil with a spoon until everything is combined. Add in the Water, as needed, until a firm and slightly sticky dough has been formed. Roll into a ball and dust lightly with Flour, then let rest for 5 minutes.

2. Preheat oven to 180c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper. Dust a work surface with Flour and roll out the dough, reworking as necessary, to a 5mm thickness. Cut out rounds of about 2 1/2 inches and place onto the prepared tray. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes, turning halfway, until the cakes start to turn a light brown colour and then flip over and cook for another 5 minutes. Remove to a wire-rack to cool completely.

10 thoughts on “Buckwheat Cakes

  1. Pingback: Butternut Squash Gnocchi |

  2. Pingback: Buckwheat Hobnobs |

  3. Pingback: Happy Anniversary Buckwheat Flour |

  4. Pingback: Quinoa and Buckwheat Breads – Single Flour, Grain, Starches, Dairy, Gums and Yeast Free – Guest Post – Cooking Without Gluten

  5. Pingback: Хлеб без Глютена, Крахмалов, Дрожжей и Загустителей — Обзор Рецептов — Готовим Без Глютена

    • Never troubling, always treasured! I like the digestives as a sweeter option, though my Father always ate hem with butter so they’re less sweet than the usual biscuits, the cakes, hard to name them as they’re based on Scottish Oat Cakes, are more like a tougher cracker, delicious with a spread or topped with anything savoury, but sweet works too. So, to make a sort answer way too long: I like the cakes because they’re faster to make and you can treat them roughly with no effect on the final product.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Eats and No Eats | Pep's Free From Kitchen

Comments are closed.