Documenting To Distract


A bunch turned up after this. All these birdbaths, but no, use a puddle.

It’s fighting to be seen.

First foxglove spike.

All the different Heuchera came the same colour, but are now changing.

I’ll be ready come harvest.

The Poppies bought by mistake are doing really well.
Yo, Dear Reader, I was just asked what I’m photographing now and yeah I know it can be annoying to see so many posts, but it’s helping distract from the healing. Which is going fine, I had a bad night as somehow I twisted while sleeping and hurt something, the swelling and pain both went, but it was a worrying few hours, there will be times like that, Dear Reader, I just have to make sure I’m not the cause of them. I’ll be smart, I didn’t do all this work to go wrong at the end. On a positive side I can actually taste and that is still great. Meals have been a chore, still are to a degree, can’t ever escape that, but knowing I’ll actually have a reason to play with seasoning more rather than just throwing salt at things in the hopes it’ll help is a boon. Naturally I refilled all the spice blends before the surgery. Prepared isn’t the word, more like possessed, but it’s paying dividends.

Primroses, Primula, Cowslip, whatever they’re great and free and I refuse to ever buy one.

Might be the anemone style dahlia.

Cauliflower and cabbages planted just before I went in.

Less menacing when everything is so verdant.

This was the best purchase, a big tray of foxgloves and these come back year to year.

One of the 50+ roses is putting out huge leaves.

The weather remains strange, Dear Reader, it may have a knock on effect next year, as will my lack of weeding, but I just can’t, as much as that hurts me and you know me, Dear Reader, this hurts more than any surgery. The mild Winter seems to have spurred the roses into heavy budding, also the fact I never cut them back. Every year I learn that the more you try to bend nature to your will the less it’ll produce, by gently coaxing and sometimes just giving up and letting it do what it will you have far better results.

The London Pride will turn into a dead mass in time, but it returns every time.

A friend likes lilies and gifts them to me and I like lilies and well, much like tulips it may be a Lily Year yet.

There’s another chunk of what might be the French Geranium, also that big leafy thing is a blue germanium.

That too, just a bit of root and in time…that.

My Grandmother’s Rose.

So, I’m doing fine, Dear Reader, eating right, walking because I need to clear my head, get fresh air and hopefully tire enough to sleep. The old I get the less sleep seems to rest, but I still need it. I would say long gone are the days I spent up all night and woke up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, but I wouldn’t lie to you like that, Dear Reader. I am what I am, right now I’m starting to stand straight without my neck feeling locked into a bend so I’m making positive progress and much like my surgery you may knock me down, but I will get up and keep going past all expectations. To a day where I can just garden, Dear Reader, it won’t be long now. Until later, stay safe and take care.

Bouquet rose is now a full fledged plant.

I don’t think these ever flowered when the others did. Neat.

Yes that’s heather I just shoved in there and YES THAT’S A POTATO! It is free.

Not long now.