Changing Of The Guard…Garden

I say this is all for the bees and people still think I’m joking.

Cleared most of the creeping buttercup in the front, tree lilies looking good.

Angel + Lentils = Angle.

Hydrangea cutting.

Pretty sure I spread all these by shaking the dried seed-heads around.

Okay, this is the red Hydrangea from a cutting, first flower ever!

Aquilegia is everywhere.

Eighteen holes, eighteen berries rooting and filling up the insertable rings.

Looked awful at first, but then the sun came.

Yo, Dear Reader, the weather is still so far out of the norm for the season it’s maddening. I know this is how it’ll be, but the whiplash of being out yesterday with zero sun and heat and today being blistered by sun and heat while tomorrow could be cold and rainy is…somethin I’m just going to stay angry and realise that that’s normal. I have plants starting well and others hardly at all, even the cabbages are slow and they’re always a pest for growing too fast. I think the raspberries are on their last legs, sad as I’ve had them the longest, but I’ll get in and try to expose the ground and the roots to see if they’ll revive. If they’re gone then me damaging them to check won’t matter, before I didn’t want to do too much as I may harm them. They’re in bottomless buckets so I’ll open it out and wait and then decide if I want a bed or raised pots with new plants. Change is a constant, Dear Reader, a constant pain in my…neck.

Oddly the oldest hydrangea is suddenly bushing out all over.

Ranunculus in the bed as the baskets are mostly done.

They’re so tall.

Chucky. I also made a castle that managed to get stuck and broke the mould.

With the rain I could miss this entirely so partial bloom for now just in case.

One of the graveyard rescues.

The other, really big now too. Probably costly, but just dumped.

Cleaner, but in need of a lot of plants.

I’ve been making a lot of masks, really condensing my whole year’s worth into a few weeks to help with the dead dull days, we haven’t had a real Spring yet, so they’re something worth focusing on. I’m mostly done, I have a few more bits to go yet, but once the cement mix is done so am I…I say that a lot, Dear Reader, but I mean it. Getting too stuck in a routine isn’t good either, like the raspberries making me wonder about jam I remind myself I’m not answering to anyone and optimising isn’t worth it constantly if it isn’t bringing joy. Moving things around the garden shows how much it has changed, I’m actually running out of wall space which is mindboggling as the bare walls were always an eye sore. I’ll likely stick the smaller ornaments around when they’re painted. I had hoped the pie slices could be combined, but they’re slanted outwards and the lattice doesn’t align. It’d have taken eighteen days, but you know I’d have done it, Dear Reader.

Currant flowers are popping out.

Smacked it with the gate by mistake, seemed okay with that.

Was tempted to tile this with a joke about two ingredients, cement and sand, croissants.

Rockery really lovely even before it flowers.

More peas coming soon.

Flowering currant has bees making a beeline for it constantly.

Right now I’m trying to gauge what needs to get ready to go out and get planted. The bottomless pea idea work, just lifted it from the tray and shook it free into the hole. Much easier to line up peas like this rather than with individual pots or direct sowing. The strawberries are all secured for the barrel, thanks to someone I have an additional three varieties in the garden which is fun, they’re not all that different, but enjoyable nonetheless. For May I have a lot done, but there’s so much that is out of my control and at a crawl right now. Mostly, Dear Reader, I make sure the bees are okay and hope for the best. It’s not just me, I know that, but I can only make so many masks to fill the void! I’ll be back again soon, Dear Reader, until then stay safe and take care.

A little of everything all at once is my style.

Trying to figure out who will take the expensive to buy free plants.

Apple tree from a scion.

One-eye, named for the obvious and because I always named a character in the Worms games that when I was a kid, asymmetry is actually rare in these and neat.

Beans, tree lilies and a trumpet flower I assumed was dead.

Took down an unused basket arm and since I had a basket and strawberries I figured I’d fill that dead corner.