Mango and Wild Garlic All Purpose Sauce

Someone dropped off Wild Garlic, I’ve never used it and had to do with what I had to hand.

I’m slowly learning when the mango is ripe enough to eat. Golden orange, fragrant flesh is a fair indicator you’ve gotten it right.

Yo, Dear Reader,  haven’t eaten wild garlic before and had no real idea of how best to utilise it, I could’ve Googled, but eh, I tasted the leaf and it had a pungent fresh garlic hit, the stems were bitters so I left those out and the flower heads had a taste of onion so I threw those in. Allium tasting sounds strange, but the combination of onion and garlic and that indefinable freshness that leafy greens have when fresh is summed up in the word. This is a hard to describe sauce, purpose-wise that is, it’s pretty basic otherwise, I use it on hot pasta, but keep it cold, well, I mean the original with basil, you can use it as a dip, you could heat it, but you’ll lose a lot of the good when you do. I could’ve made pesto, but I hadn’t any nuts in and I have found pesto too oily at times, just a personal thing, this work because it has that punch of freshness, with a sight underlying bitterness. When poured over and dispersed through a dish the bitterness diminishes and the slightly sweet mango and the pungent garlic spreads over everything just enough to pack flavour into each mouthful. It’s simple food, but fresh and after the Winter fresh is always appreciated. Not much to say today, Dear Reader, I’ll be back again soon. I’m going to be decorating another birthday cake, a wheat flour one, but he same could be done with buckwheat, I might share it and let people see what they can learn from it, it won’t be anything to elaborate, but it should make a dreary birthday better for a friend. Okay, stay safe and take care, Dear Reader.

Quick to come together and a really fresh taste.

Ingredients

250g Fresh Mango Chunks
70g Fresh Wild Garlic Leaves
12 Cloves Garlic, Peeled
90ml Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper to Taste

Makes Five Servings.
Can be frozen, just top with Olive Oil.

Method

1. Add everything to a blender, layering the Wild Garlic and Mango in alternating layers, finally topping with the Olive Oil, then pulse until everything is combined and uniform, no need to add extra water. Use right away or cover and leave in the fridge for a few days.

1 thought on “Mango and Wild Garlic All Purpose Sauce

  1. Pingback: Halfway Harvest | Pep's Free From Kitchen

Comments are closed.