A Fool, A King and Jack

I couldn’t wait another day.

Last year I grew golden nugget squash alongside my harlequin and with each successive squash I grew more and more disappointed. They seemingly had no resistance to bad weather other than to harden up so much that a hammer bounced off the skin. You can imagine that I wear leary and weary of cutting into my huge table king squash, my first ever table king no less. Though the knife did stick, it’s a very large squash, I’m more than happy to report that acorn style squashes will be what I’ll be growing from here on out.

“Wait, another squash tasting post?” Don’t cry, dear reader.

You know these posts feel like an alternative world version of those paid for product reviews. These are squashes grown from seeds I paid for, taken care of by me and eaten solely by me. The reason I’m sharing? Well, you never know who it might help, be it a prospective gardener wondering what they should plant, a curious shopper recalling a post like this when they stumble across freshly stocked squash. Last year I hadn’t much opportunity to compare the squashes, I’ve been eating harlequin for three years now, but this is the first year I could really compare freshly grown squash to store bought as I have a more varied selection and more experience.

I just sauteed a sample not a whole squash….this time.

If I were pad by the word I’d be a rich, rich Jack. As I am, well, I’m rich in spirit and I have squash so it balances out. So, what was my second squash like? The first thing I noticed, even when raw, was that the flesh is so creamy, it has none of that slimy hardness that you sometimes find with squash. They are stored so it’s unsurprising there’d be a difference with my fresh, but it’s such a great divide, they’re like two different berries. As you can see I tried a little coked and I can say if you can’ get harlequin then a table king wouldn’t be a bad replacement for potato, it was quite as crispy and crumbled as the harlequin, but it did have a lovely fluffy interior with a crispy shell. I made it into a pasta sauce with shallots. This was just one squash, I’ll be trying them as many ways as I can with what I have.

You get about half the weight after peeling.

It always looks like custard to me. The taste is pretty mild, pleasant in it’s own way, but I’d like this with some kind of seasoning. If I have a smaller one I may roast it with cinnamon or honey, something sweet. There’s not much else to say, but I’m really pleased with my choice of secondary squash this year. I love putting something away in the freezer made with fresh produce, I’d never use it all at once anyway and this way, in the Winter when everything is going dormant I’ll have all these wonderful flavours to enjoy. That’s all for today…oh, my seven feet, at least, artichokes fell over, I nearly crippled myself righting them. They better flower next year or, nah, I’ll keep them, they’re fun to look at. See you later, dear reader.

The roma are starting to ripen too. The plants are sagging dangerously. Next year: Tepees!

9 thoughts on “A Fool, A King and Jack

      1. Very nice. I like that I’m planning on starting to grow my own herbs next month. I just have deep love for herbs they literally make me happy! Any tips you can pass on?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

