Flaxseed and Buckwheat Flour Scones

August 12th Update: I’ve added new photos below the recipe.

Homemade raspberry jelly.

I swear that if you start making a new recipe, carefully take photos of each stage, document each step with perfect clarity then it’ll fail and all that work will have been wasted. Whereas if you just fly by the seat of your pants, take no photos then you’ll succeed, ending up have only one photo and a pocket full of hastily scrawled post-it notes. I can’t even count, well I can but I’m making a point so shush, how may scone recipes I have made at this point, no, no, dear reader, you don’t need to count either. I like them as you n usually make just enough for one serving and that’s that. The trouble when using buckwheat like this is that the end result is often extremely crumbly, but as I say today luck, if not records, is on my side. Or perhaps I’m just experienced and know what I’m doing with these ingredients.

The one thing about free-from baking is that once you understand the ingredients then it can be made to work like any other kind of baking. There are just more limits, more ways to circumvent those limits too. A lot of companies like to proliferate the idea hat you need to be something extraordinary to make any free-from product. That suits their profit margin, but it’s not true. Believe me or not, to be honest I no longer care. There recipes re here as proof, if after looking people still ca’t grasp the idea that someone trying to make money will lie to them or mislead them then, well, too bad.

If you make them large an X slash on the top will help them bake quicker and more evenly.

Now, my dear readers are too smart for that. So, let’s see what I did today that worked and why when possible. I opted for more flax to help soften, there was a fear it’d end up mushy so I didn’t use much extra liquid outside of the egg and oil. Flax absorbs hence the resting period. Buckwheat four because it’s a wonder four. Really there isn’t much here outside the usual. What was interesting is that when it all came together, with just a splash of water, it was this airy ball, just a bit sticky, really light and squishy. When rested it firmed up, but still had that trademark buckwheat crack when he dough was worked too much. A gentle roll in my hands and it was back to smooth. The work of a few minutes.

Now, I did let it cool before cutting and there was a bit of crumbing around the edges, but it stayed intact. When it was cut the whole was firm, really much more so than others I’ve made. Even when I bit into it it didn’t crumble at all, it was firm, but had just enough moisture and spring to stop it breaking up. The texture is on the rough side, a pleasant grittiness if you will, and there is a strong taste of flaxseed. For such a simple recipe these were really nice topped with butter and jam, there was no cascade of cracked scone, taking my jam and butter with it on its journey to the floor or my tee-shirt, just a evenly textured bite, not too dry either. I think these are the best  I’ve made so far. You do have to adjust your taste-buds when it comes to new foods, but that’s true of any diet or cuisine. I think too many people baulk at the idea of eating anything they’re unfamiliar with, never realising they’ve set their own level of “normal” and refuse to budge from it. I’m sure if a large portion of new coeliacs and free-fromers watched a child do what they do they’d be making snide remarks and telling anyone, poor devil, close enough to listen how they’d eat what they’re given. Well, I have scones and jam in me, so I’m good. See you later, dear reader.

Ingredients

65g Buckwheat Flour
35g Ground Flaxseed/Golden Flaxseed
1 Medium Egg (60g-65g)
15g Sugar
15ml Olive Oil
1 Tsp Baking Powder
Dash of Vanilla Extract

Makes 2 Large Scones.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 200c (Fan) and line a baking tray with grease-proof paper.

2. Add all the dry ingredients to a bowl and then stir, with a fork in the Olive Oil Egg and Vanilla Extract until the dough starts to come together, adding a splash of water as needed. Dough should be airy and slightly sticky. Form into a ball and rest for 5 minutes.

3. After the 5 minutes are up, the dough should be firmer now and not sticky, split into two and roll each portion in a ball and press gently onto the prepared tray.

4. Bake for 20 minutes until scones are firm and a brown colour. Transfer to a wire-rack and let cool. Best eaten on day of baking.

Golden flaxseed works much better. Before resting.

After resting. Much firmer.

Slash the tops to bake faster. Make little rolls or one long one if you’d like.

They’re really good.

5 thoughts on “Flaxseed and Buckwheat Flour Scones

  1. I’m curious about these scones, but won’t try until I have something else to bake (trying to avoid warming up the whole place just for two scones). What intrigues me is the “strong” flaxseed flavor. I tend to prefer chia, for a milder taste.
    I made blueberry jam for my husband last week, measured nothing, took no notes… and it came out perfect. So, nothing to share!
    Glad to hear your garden is thriving. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The brown flaxseed has a very strong taste, but I always have a bag of ground flaxseed at hand I use it over chia as I’d have to grind that fresh. So I’m partly being lazy and partly being healthy. See, any recipe on the fly seems to do far better! Thank you, have a nice evening!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

