Caramelised Shallots

Again, this is a: I’ve Never Eaten This Before, recipe.

I had to tried fried shallots, I’ve never tried fried onions before, but since these are from my garden I have to use them in every way possible. A lot of simple recipes like this might seem worthy of derision, but if you’ve never heard of some of these ingredients or never tried cooking with them before I think it’s useful to have a recipe in amongst other familiar recipes. It makes it much less daunting to the novice and neophyte. I wasn’t sure  how far I could take the shallots without burning them, I cooked them with the steak, though that’s not part of the recipes, and they started to slowly caramelise. A pleasant surprise. I ended up with these sweet, buttery morsels of onion. Not something you’d want to make in overly large batches, but a little here and there wouldn’t be the worst, eh, dear reader? As it was just me I just popped to the shed and grabbed two shallots. Sizes vary wildly, but two large will yield more than enough for one serving, they do shrink a bit, but even then they’re really rich. I think I’ll plant a few more next year again, they’re different enough from onions to be interesting and tasty enough to be worth the wait. That’s it for today, dear reader, take it easy.

Ingredients

2 Large Shallots, Peeled and Chopped
1 Tbsp Butter
1/2 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper to Taste

Method

1. Add the Olive Oil and Butter to a pan and heat on high until the butter has melted. Add the Shallots and stir everything together. Reduce heat to medium and cook for about 20-25 minutes, stirring as needed to prevent burning, until Shallots are amber coloured and crisp. Scoop out Shallots with a slotted spoon and discard oil.

12 thoughts on “Caramelised Shallots

      1. I never have enough shallots. I now grow them from seed to ensure I have a good continual supply. They are nice to use as they absorb the flavours in the meal. – they also are not as fibrous as leeks. Sounds like you’ll be doing it again .😊👩‍🍳

        Liked by 1 person

      2. There’s nothing like your own home-grown produce, is there? This was my first year growing them, a neighbour was planting some and I ended up with the left overs. Next year I’ll read up on all the different types and see what suits me best.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. With time I slowly switched to use only sauteed, gently fried or caramelised onions, leek and shallots when cooking with them. Practically do not use them in fresh when cooking anything. Changes the flavour and eliminated digestion problems some people have when raw onions are used in mince dishes. I envy you the discovery road for new uses of this wonderful product.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never been a fan of the crunch of raw onion, but early on I found I could only tolerate onion in small amount. Over time I’ve been able to tolerate more and more onion, now I can eat it normally, but I still can’t stand the texture when raw. It still amazes me how much there is to eat even when on an extremely restive diet. The one benefit of growing your own is that you appreciate the work that went into growing them and want to use them to their utmost potential. I’m still searching for new uses and I have quite a few shallots left curing in the shed.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband can tolerate a small amount of shallots, but not so much onions. I told you you would like them! I think you can also make a smooth shallot gravy with them, adding some rice flour to the cooked shallots, let cook for a minute, then add chicken stock. Stir until thickened and blend if desired.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

