Look At Allium Onions!

About seventy onions, give or take a few.

Ah, dear reader, no, no, that smell is the smell of freshly harvested onions, maybe comfrey tea, I see there are tears in your eyes, tears of joy no doubt. Yes, it was time to pluck the onions, to wrest them…well, actually, thanks to the compost loosening the clay they came up easy, anyway, it was time to take the onions from their specially constructed bed, hey I made it, it’s no longer just a crate. Organic onions, no sprays, nothing funny, growing in a recycled crate, which looks so small suddenly, in once useless clay improved by natural home-made compost. So fancy, okay, they’re just onions, stuttgarter and karmen, but nothing matches your own grown produce. I went a bit overboard planting eighty one onions, but I use quite a bit of onion so I’m happy. I only lost a few to bolting, the red onion was the worst for bolting. Even though here were only about a third as much as the yellow planted. I’ll air dry them for the two fine days we’ve been promised then I’ll hang them in the shed to fully cure. I put he leftover shelves from the greenhouse over the bed and put the mesh over that to elevate them a little. Less chance of rotting that way. I will have to flip them before hanging. I love all the different sizes and shapes, it feels as if each onion was different. I had such fun pulling each one up, laying it down and watching the pile of onions grow. The leaves make a squeaky sound when they rub together it’s strange, more animal than vegetable.

The Royal Mallow is in bloom. I just tossed the seeds in a tray outside, covered and here we are. Less fussing with plants next year.

As this is being written over a few days it might change up tempo and tone from paragraph to paragraph. Sadly we’re still experiencing losses, one of the garlic bulbs which I had worried about has turned soft, the other is fine and I’ll at least get to eat one. One squash, a larger immature one, was sacrificed by the plant to help another. I think that because of the feeding and care this year even with the rough weather all the squash that are growing, some are even close to being fully ripe, are really large. The only runts are from the later started squash, any root compaction in squash is detrimental in a huge way to the development of fruit. Today the seventh of July, I received good word about my surgery. That’s still a ways of, but it’s a good day. I also saw someone with their pants almost falling off, they stumbled down the bus with their crack on show and I, only being human, had to stifle a laugh. The blessing of the unexpected butt-crack was set in motion and after that the day seemed to be running as if it were made exclusively for me.

I keep saying: These are Dahlias!, out of the corner of my mouth whenever I see one. I keep cracking up.

I always think you’re better planting a lot, when I lost garlic I gained enough basil to make twelve servings, each with just one type of basil. I’ve been mixing and match recently as I never had quite enough of any of them. The greenhouse is currently producing large quantities of unripened tomatoes, I’l just keep them water and hope for ripe fruit. I struggled last year against frustrating limitations, this year I’ve done all I can and it seems to be working. With the surgery looming I’d like to do all that I can. The squash will be easy enough o take care of, but I won’t be up to any heavy lifting for a while. I might try to clean the beds out, just a few cauliflowers left, while the weather is so warm. My onions are hanging in the shed now. Fun to think I’ll have curries made with my own home-grown garlic and onion.

Collecting seeds is so tedious and fiddly, but, you know, free seeds!

I can now say with certainty that the yellow strawberry seeds have indeed germinated. I recognised the leaf shape, even though they’re just he size of a finger tip currently they’re still very distinctive. I’m still taking runners off the red strawberries and nearer the Winter I’ll be repotting the plants, leaving the barrel alone as that has plenty of space. I’ll have to get rid of a few, but most of the are still relatively young plants. Finding space for the new yellow plant is going to be tricky, but I’ll figure something out, they’re fairly compact so I might be able to get a lot in a large pot or instead scatter a lot of smaller pots about.

The basil was starting to get a bit bitter. At least I have individual types of pesto again.

Cut it and bag it the use it as soon as possible. That way it’s as fresh as can be.

Probably the last cauliflower.

That’s all for today, dear reader. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

