Buckwheat Flour and Cauliflower Bread

First grow your cauliflower.

Firstly a big thank you to Cooking Without Gluten for the original recipe. You might recognise this recipe as it’s similar to the Buckwheat Puree Bread which uses raw green apple. All I have changed is that I use a blender and a bowl, whereas the original uses a food processor for the whole lot. I’m just too lazy to make space in the dishwasher for the food processor. You think I’m kidding, right, dear reader? Heh. What’s amazing is how with just a few ingredients you can get a loaf that avoids so many problematic foods and ingredients. If you haven’t been to Cooking without Gluten then you’re missing out on a lot of recipes, information and inspiration.

I don’t have many oil free breads on the blog.

This is such a fast bread.

One mistake I made was that I should have added more water, the cauliflower I was using was freshly picked today and was slightly drier than it should have been. I need to add water to facilitate blending, but extra would’ve prevented the pockets in the bread, they were slight so it didn’t really affect the bread at all. That’s actually what makes this such an interesting bread, you’re using raw cauliflower to replace the oil and to impart a mild taste. I wasn’t wild about the taste as I’m not a huge cauliflower fan. I eat it and enjoy the benefits, but I’ll often mix it with other vegetables. In saying that, whatever topping you use will disguise the taste if you’d rather. It doesn’t taste raw, just has a baked cauliflower taste. The texture is where this bread shines, it has a firm, springy texture. A really solid bite to the  bread, not the soft mushy bread you sometimes get when eating gluten free loaves.

It has the same elastic feel as the apple version.

A quick cool and it’s ready to slice.

It does take a long time to bake so you might be best to bake a few loaves at once to save yourself time. It bakes at the same time and temperature as the apple so you could easily bake both. I love using fresh produce to make new recipes like this. I had seen it previously, but it slipped away and until I saw a small cauliflower had popped up I hadn’t thought of it. I had just a little over the required weight to boot. I’ve now tied my record of cauliflowers harvested last year, all going well I should be able to break that record. I think this bread exemplifies what I want  to do in my free from journey, I want food that utilises every strength, regardless of how nontraditional. I’ve often said that Cooking Without Limits and my own blog are very similar in their methods and approach to recipes, I hope I can match up to the creativity contained in every one of the recipes there one day, I’ll keep working at it for now. Now I wait for more to grow and we see what can be done. I will be busy prepping for the surgery again, all going well at the end of the month, but I’ll wait and see. So I don’t know when posts will be written. They might be written daily, scheduled and there’ll be way too much of me or they may get a bit slack. Depends on the weather really, if the garden blooms you’ll have Jack at least, if it’s productive you’ll have Jack in a chef’s hat. Until later, take care, dear reader.

Ingredients

150g Fresh Raw Cauliflower
130g Buckwheat Flour
10g Flaxseed Meal
2 Large Eggs (About 70g to 80g in Shell)
6g Baking Powder
Pinch of Salt

Makes one small loaf.
Can be frozen.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 170c (No Fan).

2. Grease, with Butter, and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. Blitz the Cauliflower and Egg together, add a little Water if needed, until smooth and set aside.

4. Add everything else to a bowl and shake together. Then add in the Egg mixture. Stir together with a fork until combined. Batter will be elastic and thick. Add a little Water until the batter is more of a runny consistency.

4. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 60 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Cool in tin for 10 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire rack.

Now we wait for more cauliflower.

6 thoughts on “Buckwheat Flour and Cauliflower Bread

  1. I have made a buckwheat cauliflower bread before and frankly it is my favorite, flavored with fresh ground Rosemary. Cannot wait to try your version!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

