Breads Here Revisited Part 2: Quinoa Flour Bread


 photo WP_20170618_001_e_zpswt06j16q.jpg
Waltztime. I’d swear it was supposed to be a different colour.

I did the introductions in part one, dear reader, so I’m sure I’ll be forgiven if I just skip straight to the bread this time. It is surprisingly hard to think what information is pertinent here. If there’s anything you’d like to see in greater detail then do let me know. I’m just Joe Average writing about bread I eat, this isn’t a complex dissertation, there aren’t any rules or set pieces I’ll just try to fill these posts with the most useful, interesting if failing that, titbits I can think of.

Quinoa Flour Bread

This bread was a more complex creation, it started the same way I try all breads. A simple water, fat and flour bread. Over time, how much I’ve honestly forgotten, it was morphed into one of my proudest creations. You can see the original on the recipe page, small, brown, dry looking then when you follow the link to the update you’re met with a golden loaf, looming large as life and twice as tasty. This bread had to be worked out, it needs a greater hold than the buckwheat did. The eggs and flax  aren’t optional additions here, they’re vital. What makes it interesting and unique is that it takes a large volume of liquids and even when the batter is ready is very runny, yet when baked it’s firm with just a slight spring. The interior has a pleasant sponginess, without feeling soggy or half-baked as some free-from breads can. I’ve never found why quinoa flour makes such an impressive bread and, not to toot my own horn, I’ve never seen one like it either. It’s one I’d say will please even the fussiest free-from eaters. It’s its own bread, it’s not an imitation or a facsimile, this is a quinoa loaf an original loaf. The only consideration is that it needs a well greased non-stick tin as it can adhere easily.

The quinoa’s absorbency is probably part of the reason this works so well, that’s why I coupled it with the flaxseed, the ground flax providing hold as well as holding more moisture. The baking time is quite long. It can take up to an hour for a large loaf, though I prefer this in small loves as this does have a crusty exterior, not very thick, but very contrasting to the interior. It can be cut warm if you’d like, but I let it cool as it’s much nicer when fully cooled. The one thing that makes this even more special is that it can be toasted and when toasted, or fried in oil or butter, the bread become so crunchy, there’s just a slight bit of spongy bread left inside a crisp shell. I’ve never made another free-from bread that does this. It can even make French Toast with ease. If Buckwheat is a healthy cornerstone then this skirts the edge of unhealthy, the bread itself is wholesome, but some of its better applications will involve butter, lots of butter. For the more health conscious you’ll be pleased to know that even plain this is delicious, there’s a taste that’s unique to the quinoa flour. I have found roasted flour will result in the best flavour. It pairs extremely well with eggs for some reason. As with most of my breads it freezes perfectly.

So, that’s al I can say about this bread. As quinoa flour can be more expensive I do tend to use it sparingly. It’s what’s often referred to as a comfort food for me. A long week, filled with food preparation, can be finished with a few slices toasted and topped with some poached eggs. It’s further proof that we sometimes only see the tip of what’s possible with free-from baking. I don’t claim to be a stand-out, or an exceptional individual, I just like to see what these flours can do and quinoa has proven itself second only to buckwheat. There are numerous quinoa flour recipes here, but I return to this one the most. Maybe you’ll give it a try and it’ll be a favourite of yours too. I’ll see you next week.


 photo WP_20170618_002_e_zpsaoekxie3.jpg
Peace.

Leave a Reply

