Sorghum Flour Crumble

 photo WP_20170615_027_e_zpsfwbkheqe.jpgAll my crumbles look the same and come in the same dish.

I’ll be honest with you, dear reader, I can’t even remember which crumble recipe is the original any more. They’re all pretty much the same, the only change is the flour and that works because of the ground almonds. It’s a pretty nice crumble, can’t grumble. I usually make crumble to either use up flour that leftover or to use fruit that’s been in the freezer for too long. I realise I’m not selling you on this, but if you want crumble, here it is, if not, meh. I’m making room in my freezer for my imagined bountiful harvest of fruit. The raspberry harvest is picking up and the yellow strawberries are dong decently. I’ll probably make a few jellies rather than jams, though I do want a yellow strawberry jam for novelty, because the raspberries are really seedy and they get stuck in my teeth. Besides, I can buy jam easily, but jelly is apparently too exotic. Worry not about waste, the compost will be enriched by the seedy pulp. I may also go harvesting wild blackberries. I’ll start saving small jars now and hopefully have enough. Well, that’s it for me, just a quick recipe. See you later.

Ingredients

100g Berries, or Other Fruit, of Choice
35g Sugar
35g Ground Almonds
35g Sorghum Flour
35g Butter, Cold and Chopped

Method

1. Pre-heat oven to 180c (Fan).

2. Place the Berries in an oven proof dish. Set aside.

3. In a bowl mix together the Ground Almonds, Sorghum Flour, Butter and Sugar. Work together with fingers until it resembles breadcrumbs,

4. Sprinkle Crumb Mixture over the Berries and cook for 15-20 minutes until the top is golden brown.

10 thoughts on “Sorghum Flour Crumble

  1. You can never have too many recipes for crumble. Just bought some sorghum flour so I’m going to try this but with coconut oil (can’t eat dairy) and the addition of some flaked almonds.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your classic no-grumble crumble is similar to mine, though I like to add GF oats to it. (Have you noticed that oats often show up in my recipe?) The almond (or hazelnut) meal is almost unavoidable, I have tried without and was disappointed.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. By the way, I must thank you for inspiring me to make cookies using only sorghum flour (I wanted to finish a bag). I used hazelnut butter , unsweetened, instead of butter, and very little sugar: each cookie only contains 5 g. I can’t post it, because not knowing if the end result would be edible, I neglected to take photos. Besides, everything still gets done sooo slowly: the cooking, the typing… pfff…
        I take my pics with my iPad, using the timer function so I have time to position the tablet at the right angle. The photos are ok as long as I am in a bright spot. I can’t wait to see how your inside photos will come out, dear neighbor!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They sound great. I use to do the same thing, but after a few surprising success I always take a photo just in case. I’ll be out while the heatwave is here, I’m currently battling bugs in my strawberries. I’ve scattered slug pellets, sprayed them with a home-made mint and garlic spray and when I get my organic soap and porridge oats (You use yours in crumble, I use mine in the garden!) the battle will continue. Take care of yourself and have a wonderful day.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

