Fuggedabucket

 photo WP_20170608_024_e_zpsbbfwhx2b.jpgThe Dutch Iris are nearly open. I think, I’m not sure what they look like. No, I will not Google it!

Would you say you’ve missed me? It’s only been seconds, but, dear reader, even a second without Jack is…hey! Come back! I think that someday I will write the book that has been suggested to me. There you’ll be, book clenched in sweaty hands, I still love you slippery, clenching every available muscle with excited tension, you’ll open the book, named simply: “Jack”, and past the dedication, to all my Dear Readers naturally, you see the first sentence: The great thing about bottomless buckets is. After that it’ll be a blur and you might need to get yourself assessed. Throwing books in a fury isn’t acceptable behaviour, dear reader. Especially when they aimed at me! I’m kidding of course, but I do like to talk buckets more than I should, but they’ve been a success and are an integral part of my garden. You know if I bought a planter the same size I’d pay much more. I only pay two Euro for the black buckets, the show buckets as it were, the others are free. I even use the handles to pin matting. Not much to report, really, I just felt like chatting at a captive audience.

 photo WP_20170608_023_e_zpswpw9iga9.jpgI couldn’t get a good photo of the purple heart ranunculus. It’s beautiful, but so small! A rose in miniature.

I think that with any hobby you love, no matter the effort involved, and let me tell you that there is a great deal of work in all this, is worthwhile. I’ll never grow enough to be self sufficient in any way. I don’t have the space or skill for that, but I think there’ll be a harvest time every year that’ll mean I eat well from the fruits of my labour. The more I grow the less I want to waste. I’m thinking of freezing blanched beetroot leaves for smoothies. Most waste goes to the compost so I don’t waste much.

 photo WP_20170608_018_e_zpsdrqk9scv.jpgThe black grass is showing signs of life.

I have started looking up the names, as best I can find them, of heretofore unknown flowers growing in my garden. You have to ask people, Google vague terms and sometimes just plain luck out. I’m taking notes in a simple style to suit me, that way when next year comes I’ll have bullet points to follow rather than huge articles.

 photo WP_20170608_026_e_zpsfuq4q8em.jpgI thought how strange it was that I’d never see these roots again. Unless I dig it up that is.

The roses moved from a half litre pot, to a five litre and now they’ve been placed in their final receptacle. You guessed it right: A bottomless bucket. They had started to out grow their pots and I thought it best to move them now. It takes a bit of work to prepare the bucket. I have to saw off the bottom, then cut a cross in the matting, checking the fit as I go, then I dig up and loosen the soil, screw the bucket down, re-add the soil, add my compost, plant feed, water, more fresh potting compost then the rose is pressed into place and covered with more soil. It’s worked well so far. It means I have enough soil for it to spread, but not so much that the weeds take over.

 photo WP_20170608_027_e_zpsqav2mvqh.jpgThe transplanted cutting wasn’t rooted enough for moving yet. It’s got plenty of space.

 photo WP_20170608_028_e_zps9latv02o.jpgA new rose was bought to mark the successes in the garden this year. Amber Queen.

I have room for a few more buckets and I think I’ll add my two other roses I grew from cuttings when they’re ready. I’m still extremely proud of growing these roses from cuttings. It’s luck mostly, but when you can look at it and see your efforts have paid off it feels like something more than fortuity. The rose garden will look lovely in the coming months when all the bareroot tea roses start to boom. They’ll be fragrant too so it’ll be interesting to walk through it.

 photo WP_20170608_006_e_zpsm4bovo81.jpgIt’s been warm, but over cast. The basil is doing better in the greenhouse.

I have started the practice of dead-heading my flowers, the process of removing spent booms to stop the plant setting seed and wasting energy. I’ve seen how well it work in parts where I removed easy to spot seed-heads. It can be time consuming and takes a careful hand. Though, on the right day it can be a relaxing activity. Like anything in the garden really, when you’re in a hurry to accomplish your tasks, harried and unhappy, you’ll derive no real joy. Then go out when you have time to spare and just potter to and fro and you’ll find that contentment is easy come by.

 photo WP_20170608_013_e_zpscbl5a3o9.jpgThe aquilegia in Naru’s Garden is out.

I hope I’ll see a plentiful harvest this year, dear reader, it’d mean more recipes for both you and I. Whether I’ll be revisiting old recipes or creating new ones it’ll be enjoyable. I hope you’ll enjoy the journey with me, dear reader, the garden has become a very special place to me., infuriating as it can be at times, and I enjoy these informal chats of ours. I do worry that I’ll have no work to do in-between the plants growing, but maybe by next year I’ll have won the lottery and bought the field behind my house. See you later.

 photo WP_20170608_017_e_zps8bhqjv0b.jpgPretty back and front.

2 thoughts on “Fuggedabucket

Leave a Reply

