Sorghum Flour Peanut Butter Cookies

 photo WP_20170531_006_e_zpszvtr9e5c.jpgIf you bought me a better camera….I’d still take mediocre photos.

You thought that I had been bested by sorghum? You thought I’d give up? Hah! Well, I would have but I was sent free sorghum flour, because I’m wonderful, shush, so here I am. I have said that sorghum keep letting me down and staying true to form, and adhering to the absurdity that is this blog at times, I made biscuits and ended up with delicious cookies. In my new capacity as corporate shill I shall endeavour to nefariously sell you on flour! Yeah…hard to shill flour, isn’t it? I’m just happy to see a company selling a certified gluten free flour, they do do mixes too, and not have to look at a wasted opportunity. If more companies sold the bare ingredients I’d be a much happier baker. Now, I’m not here to sell you on anything, but if you are looking for free-from flours, at really decent prices, check out Mannavida. I buy mine on Amazon via the fulfilled by Amazon option. It’s hard t find these a lot of the time, you just have to troll Amazon’s gluten free section or try searching for flours whilst hoping. Thankfully these have really simply packets with all the information you need clearly listed. This really shouldn’t be this difficult, should it, dear reader?

 photo WP_20170531_007_e_zps6jkdh2ly.jpgThey don’t spread too much and get a nice dome shape.

Before I get to the cookies, I should say that I’m not adverse to bloggers working with companies, I just feel that we should be responsible, upfront and honest. I’m a small-time blogger, the chances of me being corrupted by greed and avarice are very small. Just know that I’ll always be truthful with you. I do feel there is a really great worth in bloggers telling others about products, as long as the opinions are theirs and not bought. There’s a lot of free-from food out there and a lot of it can be waste of money. A forewarning that a product isn’t worthwhile is a wonderful thing. Look, I’m just saying you want to buy me you better cough up something special. Joking. Jack can’t be bought! (Also: No one is trying). Now, I did say these were meant to be biscuits, right? Now…does anyone follow these links? Maybe? Okay. This is almost a foolproof recipes: Rice Flour, Buckwheat Flour, Amaranth Flour and Quinoa Flour. This time they’re cookies, but so delicious you won’t mind that too much. I have adjusted the recipe to be less fussy. We’re not working with gluten or a string holding flour so I’ve ditched the creaming stage entirely. This is a quick eggless cookie, but they just taste so sweet, the sorghum gives the whole cookie a better overall taste than just the peanut butter and brown sugar could provide. They’re light and just slightly crumbly. They’re not moist, but I didn’t mind the slight crisp dryness. Perfect for dunking in tea.

For a flax egg recipe they’re very sturdy. I have had better success with flax in this instead of an egg. I think the egg adds too much moisture and you end up with way too much spreading. If you want you could probably use ground chia, but I can’t say with certainty. The flax and the peanut butter are the binders in this recipe. I have read that peanut butter can work as a binder on it’s lonesome, but I’ve never had much luck with that, but I have found it useful in addition to other ingredients for giving a bit of firmness. Sorghum still isn’t my favourite flour, but I have  to admit that this has been my favourite version of this recipe to date. That’s all for now, dear reader. I still have a fair bit of sorghum flour left over so I will hopefully be back with a few more recipes. All going well I’ll return with them. Take care.

Ingredients

135g Sorghum Flour
85g Brown Sugar
60g Natural Peanut Butter
60g Butter
1 Flax Egg (1 Tbsp Flaxseed and 3 Tbsp Water)
1 Tsp Baking Powder

Makes 15 Cookies.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 160c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Mix together the Sugar and Butter together until creamy. Then mix in the Peanut Butter and the Flax Egg until fully incorporated. Finally mix in the Sorghum Flour and Baking Powder until a slightly sticky and firm dough has been formed.

3. Scoop 1 Tbsp worth of the dough and roll into a ball and press down gently onto the prepared tray. When all the dough has been used up bake the cookies for 15-20 minutes or until golden and slightly firm to the touch. Let the cookies cool on the tray for 10 minutes, they should be firm by then and then transfer to a wire-rack to cool completely.

4 thoughts on “Sorghum Flour Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Hi neighbor ! Maybe it’s the taste in cookies that has really sold GF Americans to sorghum flour, then.
    Have you tried freezing the cookie dough? You would have to shape it into a sausage-like roll first; then, when you feel like having a treat (I’m thinking in a couple of months), or when a friendly neighbor pays you an unexpected visit, all you’d need to do is slightly defrost it and slice it up before baking. I’ve done it with other GF cookie dough. It’s handy. You just have to add a couple of minutes to baking time.
    Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a really great idea. I imagine it should freeze fine. They usually freeze really well even when they’ve been baked. I don’t do that much as I tend to return to the freezer a little too often for my own good. I hope you’re feeling well and being looked after. Take care.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

