Beautiful Creature of Habit

One day, dearest reader, there will come a special dear reader who gets all my silly title references and I tell you on that day we will annoy each other intensely. So, fondest reader…Too cheesy? What can I’m just so fondue. Okay, I’ll quit it. Why are am here? It’s my blog and I’m in the mood to indulge in some pedagogy, but seeing as I often have no idea what it is I’m talking about, teaching might be hard. I was thinking about habits, both good and bad. It actually came to me while I watched a bell pepper plant that has been shredded by cold start to come to life again, standing upright for the first time in its life. The centre is a flurry of new growth the exterior a mess of dead and dying leaves. The temptation is to remove them, they’re bothersome and who wants them, right? No. They’re feeding the future producer. They’re taking in the sun and nurturing. They have their place. Their use. I’m terrible at allegory, but this is just how my brain works. Terrifying, huh?

What have damaged leaves got to do with habit? Nothing, but they serve as a metaphor for a part of successful sustained weight-loss, Jack is the poster child for weight-loss of course, by which I mean I’m in no way suitable. I’m just too honest and don’t want to sell you on nonsensical ideas or cures. There are habits that are hard to break, others that are hard to form. Hard to break habits were part of my weight gain. Health eating is my new habit and, yes, it can be a struggle. You see though there are foods I enjoy that are healthy and nutritious, the beautiful new green growth of the new me, there are also others that are better, more worthwhile but not as fun, not as enjoyable, but ones I still stick with. The old gnarled growth that pushes the rest forward. See I managed to mangle the metaphor to fit.

So, what has this got to do with you? Or me? Or anyone? Well, it’s part of the whole you don’t always see. I’ll put it simply: I like broccoli and sweet potato, I’ll happily eat those. I also eat carrots and cauliflower, which I’m not overly fond of, but they provide a more diverse diet. I eat sugar free natural yoghurt with flaxseed, not because I want to but because it’s good for me. I have for the last seven years, every single day. You see, I could easily keep the habit of eating the good foods I like, but without the habit of eating the others I’ d start to slip because there’d only be so much broccoli and so many sweet potatoes I could eat. Healthy eating is complex. It’s all to easy to get into the habit of eating the nice foods, but if you fail to diversify (Don’t mention portfolios and synergy) and end up making a habit of eating only the nice healthy foods then that habit can’t strengthen. I think new habits are reinforced by struggle. Now, it’s not to say I hate what I eat, but I had to get myself to this stage by eating and eating the great foods I didn’t want to. Some were easier as I’ve said, but these are habits now. I could quit but it’d be difficult, I could quit in stages: Ditch the cauliflower and just stick to the broccoli etc, but that would start a roll backwards and you know where that ends. The more obstacles I place behind me, the more foods there are to “quit”, then the harder it is to fail. Not to say it’s impossible, humans are strong willed in regards to stupid choices, but it helps.

When developing healthy habits the harder to form the better in my opinion. That’s it for the serious side of the blog, dear reader. Just a bit of the thoughts that flutter through my mind as I stand there sucking basil leaves. Did you know that Dark Opal Basil tastes of clove? Me neither, until this year. Supposedly it gains flavour as it matures and I’ve never had much to try out. The greenhouse is worth its weight in putty. I don’t know if sucking basil leaves is common practice, but it gets you the strongest flavour, no washing needed. Fat me is well and truly dead, dear reader. I just hope this surgery hurries up and I can be freed from his remains. I’ll talk to you soon.

P.S Oh, I forgot to add that I tried sorghum four in a gnocchi and it’s terrible for pastry or dough on its own. It dries up and crumbles. I’ll keep fiddling with it. Leave it to Jack!

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Creature of Habit

  1. They say you have to try a new food ten times before you get used to it. Our taste buds change, maybe even more as our system gets rid of the artificial products we used to feed it.
    I still think you should write that book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

