Buckwheat and Sorghum Flour Bread

 photo WP_20170518_002_e_zpssjtxysrg.jpgBest to let this one cool before cutting.

No, no talk of sad things, dear reader, no talking of hard times. If I’ve learned anything it’s than pain shouldn’t be bottled and let ferment, nor should it be dredged forth on every occasion. I’ll talk when I want, you’ll get recipes and everyone carries on as normal. Or as close to normal as we usually approach. If I’m not my usual self, well, eh. Today we talk of bread, of fresh herbs, of drupes! (Bump parts of a raspberry). Talk aimlessly, endlessly if needed, until the hurt heals just a bit.

So, sorghum. It isn’t much on its own and it tends to drag down other flours. I’m still testing it out, but even with just a little the bread is noticeably weaker, but on the aggravating side it’s also more tender, with a light crumb. It’s an interesting flour and I still maintain it’ll be best in recipes without rises. You can notice how flat the end bread is. This is based on my Buckwheat and Quinoa Bread, whereas that loaf was the melding of two flours in equal measure, this is a case of sorghum dragging poor buckwheat down. Buckwheat in this case is similar to a plain wheat flour combined with a non-traditional one, it has the burden of carrying the sorghum and it shows a bit in the more crumbly exterior and the slightly adhesive loaf. Thankfully a few whacked removed the loaf, but sorghum remains a very clingy flour. The bread is fine, tasty enough, but more of an experiment than anything of any real note. It’s always worth trying these kinds of recipes out, dear reader, this is how we learn.

 photo WP_20170518_004_e_zpswshq6zak.jpgThe taste doesn’t come through as well.

I’ve been picking herbs, dear reader. I’ve used them to flavour sous-vided beef, large snatches of parsley, stalks of sage, clumps of oregano, occasional snippets of thyme. They flavour the meat wonderfully and when you combine them with garlic and a stock-cube in the bag they give you extremely flavoursome juices for gravy. I do have basil growing and I should soon be making my first batch of pesto. Genovese will be the first one, Cinnamon a close second, Dark Opal is just starting to get large and Thai is sluggish, but new, so we can forgive. I have two other large pots of both the genovese and cinnamon just starting to sprout. I plan to have lots of pesto. The salad garden is still ticking along. Mustard and Spinach have just recently been transplanted. The lettuce is plentiful and the Chive flowers are almost open. For the non-nightshade intolerant I have tomatoes, bell peppers and chillies, two varieties, all starting to gain momentum. It’ll be a while before that harvest. I think I may have Yellow Strawberries soon, along with Raspberries. All of which will be frozen and used when I have a considerate amount. Everything is chugging along nicely. I should have some interesting recipes using fresh produce in the months coming. I have fourteen squash plants, only three Table King, so I hope they’ll produce plenty of berries this year too. If the Runner Beans fail to appear I’ll add another squash. Expect plenty of reports on the garden once I start harvesting. Until then, take care, dear reader.

Ingredients

170g Buckwheat Flour
30g Sorghum Flour
120ml Water
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Large Eggs
1/3 Tbsp Baking Soda
Pinch of Salt

Makes one loaf.
Can be frozen.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (No Fan).

2. Grease and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. In a large bowl whisk together the Egg and Olive Oil. Add the Soghum Flour, Buckwheat Flour, Salt and Baking Soda and stir until combined, then add the Water and stir together until a smooth and thick batter has formed.

4. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 35-40 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until dark brown and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Cool in tin for a few minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire-rack.

3 thoughts on “Buckwheat and Sorghum Flour Bread

    1. Basil is one of the reasons I stated gardening in the first place. I still have to try it in a flatbread to see how well it’ll fare, but these abandoned houses won’t ransack themselves. Jack is everyone’s favourite son, a son of toil mostly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

