Quinoa Flour Crepes

 photo WP_20170426_001_e_zps4g0fn1d6.jpgI did neglect to remove the pan from the heat when pouring, but they’re fine.

New recipes often need a few factors to appear. The biggest is whether or not I want it currently or if I can fit it into my meal plan. I feel it’d be too easy to lose sight of my health goals, that sounds so generic and phony now, you’ve ruined everything, shills! If I kept trying to match an imagined demand of food I’d end up ruining what has been a big success. I tell you, dear reader, I look at old photos of myself, ten stone heavier and it still chills me. I’m still going, I’ve never fallen and have no intention. Weight-loss is much, much more complicated than we’re led to believe. Have no fear, I’m not starting up another conversation on that topic, not today at least. Today we’re dealing in crepes.

 photo WP_20170426_002_e_zps29j4mpkk.jpgTurkey mince with Seven Spice is just delicious.

I felt like being a bit different today, so I decided on stuffed crepes. As I had quinoa flour and no quinoa flour crepe recipe I made these. I don’t include oil in the batter because it makes them too oily. I liked these much more than the waffles, the quinoa seems to do well with direct heat like this. They didn’t feel underdone or rubbery. They were really flexible and the taste of quinoa was muted by the strong spices and tahini sauce. You can’t go too far wrong with crepes unless you add to much batter or don’t keep the heat a little below high. These do turn very golden brown which makes them more appetizing. I’m checking how they freeze and I’ll add it in later. Take care, dear reader.

 photo WP_20170426_003_e_zpslsugqi1t.jpgI tried to be fancy! It looked better in my head. Still delicious.

Ingredients

65g Quinoa Flour
1 Large Egg (65g-75g in Shell)
80ml Low Fat Milk
80ml Water
Pinch Salt
Olive Oil for frying

Makes 4 Large Crepes.
Can be frozen.

Method

1. In a jug whisk together Egg, Milk and Water and whisk in the flour and salt until a smooth, thin Batter has formed. Rest for 5 minutes.

2. Heat a non-stick pan on a medium high heat and add a small bit of Olive Oil, when hot remove from the heat and add about 1/4 Cup of Batter, swirl it to coat the bottom of the pan and return the pan to the heat. Cook crepe until browned and slightly dry to the touch, about 2 minutes, then flip, cook the same way and then transfer to a wire-rack. Repeat until Batter is used up.

8 thoughts on “Quinoa Flour Crepes

  1. I made the crepes with the homemade quinoa flour, but used rice almond milk instead of dairy, which resulted in dryish pancakes. Maybe in my case I should add an extra egg for a softer texture. But the taste was fine. I served them filled with spinach, chicken and your unbeatable tahini sauce, with sweet potato on the side. The chicken meat came out of the freezer already cooked, so it was a fairly easy meal to make. Thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe a little olive oil along with the milk, though to much might make them oil. I know you, you’ll get it right in a way I never thought of! Tahini has become my staple for quick sauces, funny to think that I detested it once. Tastes change thankfully. That’s a really great idea, I freeze a lot, but I’ve never thought of just freezing cooked chicken. Thanks for the tip and for trying the recipe out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

