Natural Nature

Just a little divergence from the norm, dear reader, less of the humorous and more of the thoughtful, if not thought provoking. I was told that gardening makes you philosophical, I’ve often told you that and it remains ever true. Have no fear that if you pick up a spade you’ll start to question morality and whenever the dirt clings to your boots you’ll ponder the infinite mysteries of the universe. It’s more of a simple, yet different view, a lens that slips over your eyes. It’s not to say I understand it all that fully yet, if I ever will, I just let it wash over me. In those quiet times, when the seeds are down, a few starting, another few dying, or in the case of my carrots: Mysteriously disappearing, a feeling pervades, one removed from the common conflagration of concatenations that engulf us everyday without our noticing it. I suppose it’s simple nature, in all its splendour. Undiluted by a reason to be, it simply is, unfettered by a need to prove itself to anyone anything. It gives you a different perspective on your life, makes you question a lot of things you’d never have thought of, let alone question. I don’t have the words to express it and it’s wonderful to be able to admit to that. I’m not afraid of not knowing something, I relish the opportunity to learn and nature is teaching me plenty.

I think this year has really cemented the idea that nature is natural. Try as hard as you can to organise it, to quantify it into simple segments and a weed will pop up in your carefully organised ideas and throw them into disarray. Try to follow exact instructions and you’ll still risk failure. Listen to the earth, dear reader. Look to the skies and see what weather is coming, forget reports, feel the thunder coming on your skin, the cool air signalling rain. It sounds profound, but all it really is is a man in a dirty hoodie looking, really looking and realising the answers are right there in front of him. I’m learning to work with nature. I cut the weeds gently, taking care to protect the plants, I feed the grass even though I care little for it. I even let the little beneficial bugs be on their way. It’s all connected. A part of me, the industrious, impatiently, ignorant part wants success, wants a set formula to rule over all. I think the wind mocks me as it blows through the trees, I’m learning to work with it, to fight it on it’s own terms. The weeds will rise, I will be here to cut them down, but the flowers, the vegetables will also grow and I will be there to nurture them to maturity and to cherish the simple journey. It comes in little bursts, this peaceful feeling, this connection to something greater. It often fades and I forget, then it returns to remind me it never left, I just turned away from it. Who know what I’m talking about really, dear  reader, let’s just look at he photos and imagine how it’ll all fare in the coming year, shall we?

 photo WP_20170403_001_e_zpsy5c7sczw.jpgI thought it was damaged like the other, but it came out just fine.

 photo WP_20170403_002_e_zps9hwrjnhy.jpgThe leaf wrapped around the other, perhaps if I’d torn it off it’d have survived. Maybe not. It’ll come again.

 photo WP_20170404_010_e_zpskmnvhqt6.jpgSquash taught me how to support climbing plants. A simple winding string works wonders.

 photo WP_20170404_004_e_zpsngk996tz.jpgFirst of the fence flowers are up. Nasturtium Gleam.

 photo WP_20170404_009_e_zpsnxkwwu42.jpgI doubted my ability and lost two small canes to the wind. Thankfully they’re already coming back and I’ve protected the rest.

 photo WP_20170404_008_e_zpshzybovqf.jpgIn-spite of the ever popular quote there is indeed a try, it’s mostly try.

 photo WP_20170404_014_e_zpsqxuwt8od.jpgThe first batch of beetroot haven’t started, nor did the old parsnip seeds. So new beetroot seeds are now sowed under cheap plastic tumblers, which are buried slightly to stop them toppling and they’re already gathering heat as you can see.

3 thoughts on “Natural Nature

  1. Reading your philosophical meandering (not maundering!) thoughts, dear neighbor, I was reminded of a French philosopher, Pierre Rabhi, whose works I have yet to read, but are apparently very inspirational. He turns to the earth for inner peace. After reading your post, I made a note to myself to go to the library and borrow one of his books . Let us all savor the moments of joy and peace that our outdoor activities bring us. Thank you from sharing yours with your readers.
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pierre_Rabhi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

