Frozen Mango Mousse

 photo WP_20170404_005_e_zps73joth7p.jpgThe mangoes here aren’t very sweet, but this was just the right sweetness.

Ah, dear reader. This is a bit of a special recipe. Why? Because it’s from another dear reader! That usually doesn’t happen as there are usually obstacles, my diet not matching theirs, the ingredients not be able to be acquired, etc. The world is a big place, dear reader, there are many food bloggers and many different diets. So, you can imagine I was happy to be able to not only mention her site, Sulfite-Free Cooking, but to also make one of her wonderful recipes. She’s been a staunch support of yours truly and it was fun to share in the enjoyment of creating something tasty. And, yes, this is tasty, simple, but wonderfully refreshing. It is of course this, the original even has a vegan option. The popular aqua faba, otherwise known as bean juice. I mock because I’m histamine intolerant and still angry that I can’t eat Mashed Chickpeas. But I can eat this lovely, light and airy mousse.

 photo WP_20170404_006_e_zpstsayvqx0.jpgI often use the wrong spatula, it reeks of garlic and I’ve often had strange fruit and garlic amalgamations.

So, let me think. I didn’t change anything really, I did use icing sugar from a packet because I was lazy. Joëlle will forgive a dear neighbour of hers I hope. Her dear readers are her dear neighbours. Hmmm? You just be thankful I call you dear reader, Spanky is just waiting in the wings if you should take a notion to misbehave. I think I might have been better eating this on a Summer’s Day, it was just pleasantly cool and really refreshing on the palate. A great option or those who can’t or don’t eat or tolerate ice-cream. I do wonder how other solid fleshed fruits would fare. All things in time, dear reader. As for the egg-yolk, well, a cut down curd springs to mind, or a tripled version of this with a full curd swirled through. Lemon and mango would be delicious. I hope I’ve done the original recipe justice, I’m rough and ready and often take the shortest way through a recipe. I found it wonderful, I hope you’ll try it too. Take care, dear reader.

 photo WP_20170404_015_e_zpsjfowtbug.jpgJust right after two hours.

Ingredients

120g Fresh Mango, Peeled and Chopped (About 1/2 a Mango)
1 Medium Egg (60-65g in Shell) White at room temperature
1 Tbsp Icing Sugar

Method

1. Blend the Mango into a smooth purée. Add a little water if Mango is too dry.

2. Beat the Egg Whites with an electric mixer on high speed until soft peaks form, then add in the Icing Sugar and beat until stiff peaks form.

3. Gently fold in, with a plastic spatula, the Mango Purée into the Whites until uniform.

4. Freezer for 2 to 3 hours until Mousse is set.

One thought on “Frozen Mango Mousse

Leave a Reply

