Buckwheat Flour Sweet Waffles

 photo WP_20170327_001_e_zpspx5bb0ws.jpgMy first attempt and first ever home-made waffle!

Did you know that the reason they’re called waffles is due to the fact that when first introduced people just wouldn’t stop talking about them? Yeah, they just waffled on about them. A tumble-weed just rolled by and with it took the majority of my reader-base. Did you know a tumble-weed is called a Russian Thistle? There goes the rest. It’s just me and you dear reader, you ever useful rhetorical device. So, waffles…truth be told they’re not very popular here. Not that they’re disliked, they just seem to be relegated to the packed versions that occasionally crop up beside the packaged pancakes. Being the adventurous food-ennui suffering person that I am I decided to buy a cheap waffle iron. It’s pink. It’s got interchangeable plates and gets hot. That’s a far as my expertise on the inner workings of waffle irons has brought me. So, I took a gander at the manual’s recipe page and tweaked it to suit me. All I knew was that waffles are supposed to be crisp and that the batter is to be pourable. Well, to cut a long story slightly shorter: They were crispy, thank you buckwheat and the batter was pourable. Though you can see with the first ones I didn’t add enough. They had a soft springy interior, which I prefer over the sometimes dry pancakes and the cooler they got the more they crisped up, though one side cooked more than the other, which is, I assume, to do with the steam escaping from the bottom plate.

 photo WP_20170327_002_e_zpsvxiph8ei.jpgSecond try was better. Bottom is on the left and top is on the right. Shocking, I know.

As these are sweet they do actually taste sweet. Not quite cakey, but different from a pancake. Oh, I should mention that I didn’t grease my iron as the manual didn’t say to and someone on the internet told me not to grease if it didn’t indicate to. Since they popped out fine it must have been the correct choice. If you have enough oil in the batter they shouldn’t stick seems to be the reasoning. I guess if you’ve never eaten a waffle this might be tricky to decide on, hmmm. Okay, a pancake has a fairly uniform texture, even the exterior isn’t hat different from the interior texture, right? Well, in the case of Waffles (Versus Pancakes. Will the defendant please rise….) there is a marked division between the crisp, slightly crunchy exterior and the springy inside. I admit this is a quick and dirty recipe, I just wanted an easy and swift recipe to begin with. As opposed to a separated egg, electric whisked drudge of a recipe. I might do that later, filled as I am with ruth for my elaborate-waffle deprived, dear readers, but for now. This’ll do. I will try a savoury version too and also see what else can be made in a waffle iron. That’s it really, I made waffles for the first time ever. I’m waiting and worrying over squash seeds. This is all your pal Jack has. Really you should cherish me, for I am a joy. Before anyone contradicts me I shall flee! Later.

Ingredients

100g Buckwheat Flour
100ml Low Fat Milk, More as Needed
1 Large Egg, 70g-75g in Shell
50g Butter, Melted and Cooled Slightly or 50ml Olive Oil
40g Sugar
1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
Dash of Vanilla Extract

Makes 6 Waffles

Method

1. Turn on Waffle Iron. Beat Eggs until frothy using a whisk, then mix in Butter, Sugar, Vanilla Extract and 25ml of Milk, beat until combined.

2. Add the Flour, Remaining Milk and Baking Powder and mix until a smooth, silky, pourable batter has been formed.

3. Add enough Batter to warmed Waffle to fill the plates, close and cook for 7-10 minutes until waffles are golden brown and the bottom is crisp. Remove with a rubber spatula and let cool for a few minutes, Waffles will crisp up further as they cool. Repeat until batter is used up. If batter becomes too thick add more Milk.

6 thoughts on “Buckwheat Flour Sweet Waffles

  1. There was no waffling on my part when it came to reading your post. I tumbled on it by happy luck. I’ll not be trying your recipe on account of the sugar, but I had a good imagine-eat of the waffles. Crisp on the outside and soft inside. The best.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I guess it’s time for me to get my waffle maker out of the basement and back into the kitchen, right? Yes, waffles are supposed to be crisp on the outside and soft inside. I used to make them for my growing kids and their friends, and the recipe I had back then used separate yolks and whites, which had to be beaten.
    Some people use their waffle maker to make gluten-free bread. I haven’t tried.
    Thank you for sharing your first batch of waffles; I am looking forward to your next recipes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did try a cheese omelette today, which tasted nice, but I was overzealous in my pouring and ended up with an omelette with a side of clean-up. I’ll tweak the amounts and try again. I’m thinking of trying the separated method for the savoury waffles, also using olive oil instead of butter to get them extra crispy. As soon as I’m happy with the results I’ll post the recipes. Thanks for commenting and take care.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

