Toasted Buckwheat Flour

 photo WP_20170312_003_zpsne77wpmt.jpgGuess which is buckwheat. That was a joke…this is an enervating post *Weeps*

I feel like sighing. You see, dear reader, there’s no way to make a flour recipe interesting. You’ve seen the numerous uses I’ve put this flour through, this part, funny how I’m at the start after so long, is really rather dull and basic. Not only that, I have two flour recipes. Don’t sigh, dear reader, I’ll keep it brief. I could’ve called this kasha flour, but I’d rather avoid the confusion.

 photo WP_20170312_004_zpsgfolv5ly.jpgIt looks more or less the same as what I get in the shops.

Okay, let’s see. Taste-wise I couldn’t see much difference, which either means the flour I’m using is already toasted or there isn’t much difference in taste between tasted and un-toasted and I’m not making raw flour to test. I did find that this ground really easily and it wasn’t difficult to get it fairly fine. It’s still a bit rougher, but it’s be fine in breads and scones. For pastry and flimsier doughs I’d prefer a  finer grind. Look, dear reader, if you have the groats and haven’t tried this wondrous flour, but would like to without buying a large bag then try this, it can’t hurt. I have expiring buckwheat and I need to use it up, hence this recipe. It’s helpful to have. Go look at he buckwheat flour tag and see what you can do with it. I’m bailing out here, I have another post to type and it’s equally boring. I could be in the garden! Be good.

 photo WP_20170312_001_zpsxeygodty.jpgLook! I’m still eating my vegetables. That’s fun, right? For the ravenous: Quinoa, Cashew Butter Gravy, Sautéed Sweet Potato, Roast Cauliflower, Broccoli and Honey Roased Carrots (They had honey on them, then I roasted them, shush)

Ingredients

Buckwheat Groats as Needed

Method

1. Add the Buckwheat Groats to a large pot, just a thin layer covering the bottom, and then toast on a medium heat until fragrant, lightly golden and just starting to pop. Remove from heat and pour onto a plate to cool completely.

2. Add about 1/4 Cup of Buckwheat to coffee-grinder and grind a few times, letting the grinder rest in between so as not to overheat the motor, until it resembles a fine powder. Repeat until all Buckwheat is used up. Either use right away or store in the fridge.

7 thoughts on “Toasted Buckwheat Flour

  1. Raw and heated buckwheat have different physical qualities. The flour made from raw buckwheat has the high binding capacity, not observed in other gluten free grains and pseudo-grains. Heat exposure dramatically changes this quality. Commercial buckwheat flour from heated kernels has a distinct and strong smell and taste. The colour is light brown and using this flour on its own will never produce the pastry for rolling. It can be used in pancakes. The smell and taste will be that what is commonly called kasha.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It must be raw I’ve been using then. I found the dough was just a bit harder to work and the scones didn’t retain the softness they did when only using raw flours. I do think toasting the amaranth might be worth it, I only ever use a small amount in my baking and the less earthy flavour is preferable. Thanks for the information. I hope one day I’ll understand these flours nearly as well as you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I learned this by accident. All buckwheat flour sold commercially in Australia is of raw buckwheat. When I used it many years ago for my first buckwheat muffins recipe I have no idea, that it is different from buckwheat flour I used to make porridge when my son was growing up. Traditionally buckwheat kernels in former USSR were always treated probably for safe storage purposes, I never saw or used raw buckwheat, did not even know that the one we always used was not a raw product. Never gave it a second thought.
        Only after I started by gluten free cooking blog in Russian language, got the samples of both raw and heated buckwheat flour samples from Russian manufacturer did I fully saw and experience the difference. Failed attempts from readers who used, let me call it “kasha flour”, instead of raw buckwheat flour forced me to write a special article about the differences in these 2 flours and their different behaviour in baking. It is possible to make perfect rolling pastry for pasta and dumplings with raw buckwheat flour and flaxseed flour, I even tried this recipe with home ground kernels and flaxseed meal. This pastry is possible to make without any gums, which I find amazing. Using heated buckwheat flour will never get the dough to make a ball, it will not be possible to bind all dry ingredients without gums. Raw buckwheat flour is not widely used in Russia and its close neighbours, it was a special name “green buckwheat flour”. What is sold under common name buckwheat flour, is actually heat treated (roasted) buckwheat flour. Sorry for such a long comment, but it is essential to know the difference in successful use of buckwheat.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. The band I buy is Australian, Big Oz. It’s funny to think that if I started with Kasha flour I may never have had the success with buckwheat flour I have because I might have just given up before I really started. No need to apologise, I honestly find it fascinating. It’s strange how long I ate without ever thinking of what it was I was eating. The work I do for my health in the kitchen, the posts for the blog and the produce from my garden are really changing the way I view food. I just hope I can impart a little of what I’m learning to all my readers. I’m really grateful for all you hard work. Out of all the blogs I visited I can say with certainty I’ve learned more from yours than any other. I hope this year’s harvest will yield even more recipes and, as always, I’ll be racking my brain for more ways to push the ingredients I have at hand. Thank you for your instructive comments.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Hi neighbor! I am surprised that your buckwheat flour has to come from so far away. Buckwheat is commonly grown in France, and as a matter of fact it used to be part of people’s staple diet in Brittany. There are some old recipes I should look into.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

