Roasted Amaranth Flour

 photo WP_20170312_003_zpsne77wpmt.jpgRoasted because it went into the oven. This is boring! I’m sorry! *Weeps*

What? You’ve lost the will to continue? Sorry, dear reader, you’ll eat your ground toasted pigweed and enjoy it! Think of poor Jack, I’m sightly addled by the sun, it’s been an unknown factor for a long time and now I’m exposed to so much I shall be freckled to within an inch of my life. No, no tan for Jack. No sun-kiss bronzed god status for me. No, all I do is smell faintly of compost and pigweed. Oh, one interesting thing. A look-it-up-for-yourself titbit, I make no promises of its worth, it was suggested to me to add a little salt, I like pink salt, just for the taste, to some sugar, no artificial sweeteners, sweetened squash, the drink not the glorious berry, with plenty of water to dilute and it should keep you hydrated better in high heat weather. I’ve found it seems to alleviate my dodgy stomach, which I always get when too hot, even when I drink copious amounts of water. No idea if it works for everybody, but it’s better than the store bought drinks and interesting, as opposed to this post. Hah…Sigh.

 photo WP_20170312_005_zps3vu2kcet.jpgThere’s a huge difference in colour as you can see.

Why  roast your amaranth? Why? Because (I said so!) it tastes strongly of dirt, no, I’m not kidding. I’ve eaten a lot of amaranth and am extremely fond of this little seed, but the truth is it’s strongly of the soil in regards taste. Why not toast? Because it’ll either pop, like for everyone else, or it’ll burn, like for me. Does toasting help? Yeah, a fair bit, there’s still a taste underneath, but nowhere near as potent. I may try cooking toasted amaranth too, just to see if it’d cook as normal, leave it to me. I do find it hard to get a really fine texture, the seeds are s small my coffee grinder just can’t seem t whip them up enough to get an even grind. It’s fine, just ads a little pop. It’s a cheapish grinder, nothing special and I’ve never had an trouble grind the amaranth so you should be find if you don’t have any heavy duty equipment. I do love the colour you gain from roasting. Okay, that’s it for a while. I might have a new curry next week, unless it ends up terrible and you never know. Later.

 photo WP_20170312_006_zpss5dmducj.jpgI made Roasted Toasted Scones.

 photo WP_20170312_007_zpsdsfxeksr.jpgThey do retain a lovely hue even after baking.

Ingredients

Amaranth as Needed

Method

1. Preheat Oven to 175c (Fan)

2. Measure out the weight of flour needed in Amaranth and add a little extra, then pour onto a greaseproof paper lined tray.

3. Bake, stirring the Amaranth occasionally, for 10-15 minutes or until Amaranth is golden and slightly fragrant. Let cool completely on tray.

4. Add about 1/4 Cup of Amaranth to coffee-grinder and grind a few times, letting the grinder rest in between so as not to overheat the motor, until it resembles a fine powder. Repeat until all Amaranth is used up. Either use right away or store in the fridge.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Roasted Amaranth Flour

Leave a Reply

