Garlic and Tahini Chicken

 photo WP_20170304_002_e_zpswexinp2p.jpgSweet Potato Fries too. How very kind of me to do all this for me.

Yes, dear reader, yet another no marinade from a marinade recipe. I haven’t been experiencing any of the troubles that I consistently had with the marinaded versions, it’s just they were so delicious hat I found it hard to accept. But, you know me, I’m no fool, well I might be, but I’m not reckless or feckless with my health. When things go agly then I know to take control and find out how to get back to being better. It’s funny that no matter how often we hear the advice to eat nuts, seeds and vegetables we just don’t. I suppose it comes from not really having enough workable ways to incorporate them into our diets. I think I’ve done well so far, he recipes I list here are used either weekly or quite a lot. You’re never too old to learn and never too and never too well informed to take on new ideas. This is nearly the last of the new recipes I mentioned, I’ll still be watching fr new buckwheat groat recipes, and of course working on my own new ones, but when they get tested and posted is anyone’s guess. I hope to get into the garden more, perhaps the weather will change soon. So, onto the tasty bit.

I do have to admit that this does suffer taste-wise a little more than the previous no-marinade tweak, that’s the problem with herbs versus spices, they don’t take the heat as well, but that’s not to say it’s not flavoursome, just a trifle more simplistic compared with the deeper flavour of the marinade version. Still, the raw garlic and tahini will always and ever be worth the price of admission. If I’m honest, I think I prefer the non-marinade versions as they just don’t take so long. It’s a hassle to prepare everything and then wait considering it’s just for myself. So, again, another simple recipe packed with goodness What you serve it with really depends on you and your preference, I just happen to enjoy it with plain wholegrain rice. Until next time, dear reader, take care.

Ingredients

Chicken

2 Chicken Breasts, Chopped
1 Garlic Clove, Crushed and Chopped Fine
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1/4 Tbsp Light Tahini
1/4 Tsp Sea Salt
1/4 Tsp Basil
1/4 Tsp Oregano
1/4 Tsp Marjoram or Sage

Tahini Sauce

1 Tsp Garlic Paste or 1 Garlic Clove, Grated
1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil
1/2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
1/2 Tbsp Light Tahini/Dark Tahini
Pinch Sea Salt
Water as needed

Method

1. Mix everything, aside from Chicken, in a bowl and then add the Chicken. Mix the Chicken into the sauce and set aside.

2. Preheat non-stick pan and when hot add Chicken. Cook for 15 minutes on a medium heat.

3. While Chicken is cooking mix together Sauce ingredients and whisk together until smooth and thin, adding water if too thick. Set aside.

4. Serve Chicken on Rice and then drizzle over Sauce.

6 thoughts on “Garlic and Tahini Chicken

  1. Any chance of me burning this one?!?!
    About nuts: adding them to a vegetarian dish is a way of making it more interesting to the palate: you get to chew on something like you would with meat — and bones… No? No bones? Ok, I’ll leave those for dear Naru…
    Have a good Sunday. Hope the sun comes out so you can enjoy your garden. Looks bleak on my side of the fence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This one seems less likely to burn, I think it’s the honey in the other that causes troubles. I all else a splash of water here will loosen it up and save the day. I do like a crunch, but just nuts that are safe are rare or extremely expensive here. Seems to be a trend. You too! Take care.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We have just had your marinated chicken for lunch, it was good! My husband suggests that I let it sit for a couple of hours before cooking so as to enhance the flavors next time. The marinade smelled delicious. I had the tahini sauce after tweaking it a bit: microwaved the mix (before adding water) for 15 sec to release more garlic flavor and also added some tamari at the end. (Used less salt also). I really enjoyed this sauce. My vegetarian second kid (your age next year, which makes me a dear old reader ^^) will be visiting with his wife in a couple of weeks. I think this will work well with tofu too, so I will be making it again. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

