Toasted Buckwheat Groats

 photo WP_20170227_004_e_zpsjmhre5wo.jpgWhat colour is this? Brown. Golden brown. Everything is golden brown!

But it’s a seed you say. A groat is a hulled grain you say. Hey, my head hurts from reading the pack of buckwheat groats that are certified 100% whole grain and on the back of the package it states that it’s a seed. Are we ashamed of seeds? Have they had cause to be shunned so? Me and buckwheat are bosom buddies and you had better prepare for an onslaught of groaty recipes. This one is tweaked a little from here. I actually have had a suggestion to toast the buckwheat before cooking and I will be trying that too. This just popped up last night and I decided to test it out and see if the toasted seeds would retain their crunch after a night. They do. Really well. I poured them over pasta and the made a really groat, heh, substitution for croutons. I have stated, and won’t continue to state, have no fear, that these recipes will probably be common place, but they’re new to me, so, yeah. Er, I mean I’ve done, what feels like at least, everything with the flour, breads, pasta, wraps, crackers etc so I think I can be forgiven for taking the easy way for a while. As for the recipe: It’s real simple, but the groats, I’m doing that to mess with you, dear reader, really crisp up well and they didn’t burn at all, I’ve had that trouble with other seeds before this. Whether you want them as a snack or as an addition to a meal you could do a lot worse than good old buckwheat. I have one more recipe to try with it this week, then I have another marinade recipe that has been converted to a no-marinade, it’s ready already but I need a photo. So for a change there are a lot of recipes.

I am busy in the garden still, but I doubt anyone but me would be excited to see photos of pots of potting compost. I’m still waiting on my dual-coloured rose. I have my seeds, but no germinating weather yet. I’m filling pots gradually and storing them in recycled trays in the greenhouse. The weather has been extremely changeable these days and it’s making Jack weary, but have no worries, dear reader, I have recipes to test and little gardening tasks to occupy me and flowering treasures to behold. I’d pick up again soon and the Jack posts will be plentiful. So, for now, eat your groats, gobble your seeds and know that Jack is always here, except when he’s not. Until we meet again.

Ingredients

45g or 1/4 Cup of Raw Buckwheat Groats
1/4 Tbsp Olive Oil or Butter
Salt to Taste, If Desired

Method

1. Add the Olive Oil and Buckwheat to a pot or non-stick frying pan and cook on a medium heat until the Buckwheat is fragrant and has taken on a dark golden colouration. Pour onto a plate to cool. Store in an airtight container and use as needed.

Leave a Reply

