Better Days and Sodden Teabags

Dear reader, if I may talk seriously for a moment. I think I’ve spent longer trying to summarize what new and old celiac need to know more than I’ve spend actually realising it. One thing I know that is vital is patience. Not the waiting and complaining. More understanding how little what we do will have immediate results, learning that we sometimes have to just have to just do something that will be of possible benefit, then forget about it. Carry on doing it, don’t mistake me, but don’t spend every day waiting and watching for this miraculous change in you. We all do it, eventually you learn it doesn’t work that way and you either fold or keep at it regardless. If you stick with it, someday you’ll find you’re better than you were in ways you never anticipated. Worrying constantly about the future in the present isn’t going to help you any. Plant the seeds of hope today, but know the  future will be what it will, waiting and agonising over it won’t make it those seeds grow any faster. Put the work in and live in hope of better days. I like to think of this hackneyed philosophy, if that isn’t too grandiose a term for it, as: No Future. It’s sounds pessimistic,  but I think of it more as realistic. I do the work today, whether it pays off is of no concern to present me but if future me benefits then he should build upon it. Present me won’t worry to much about it, or he’ll try at least. Okay, that enough serious. When your views on life are in part named after Japanese Rock Songs you have to know when to just have some fun.

 photo WP_20170211_008_e_zpstgf2l9ns.jpgI made Treacle Bread sans fruit, with Coffee instead of tea.

The dried fruit wasn’t agreeing with me, but I can tolerate a little treacle. I like the combination of treacle and coffee. They compliment each other well. There’s not much to say here, just check the original recipe to see what it’s all about.

 photo WP_20170211_005_e_zpspupfxyff.jpgI also tore open an entire shopping bag of tea bags.

But soft, what light through yonder window breaks? Those are teabags, but they’re not even mine. I’ve been tearing tea bags for composting for so long now it’s impossible not to. This is actually where the above paragraph came from. Muses aren’t fussy, dear reader. It had a destination other than compost bins this time though. Yes! You to can make gluten free bread out of used tea. No I’m joking! Come back! Oh dear. The sky was clear and the sun made a brief appearance so I decide to try digging, or forking rather, out the vegetable growing area, yet to be christened properly, since it’s been a month or two,more maybe?, since I poured the compost over it. O’er if you prefer. The soil has drastically improved. I’ll try to get a comparison shot if I can. Now you might wonder why I talk about food in one breath and then gardens in the other. Well, they’re connected, thanks to all the work and waste, not waste any more, I’ve gotten to appreciate where my food comes from, the difference between home-grown and store-bought. It’s interesting and enjoyable. I make no apologies for posting so much. The kitchen and kitchen garden cannot be separated. One supplies the other.

 photo WP_20170211_003_e_zpsef7jepwc.jpgI nearly dropped my camera out the window, but it was cold!

 photo 2016-04-14-972_zpswf9a9qcf.jpgWhat it was once. Best I can do.

 photo WP_20170211_004_e_zpsrlynnq62.jpgOkay, I went outside again, eventually.

I’m a real beginner to all this, two years and I really understand how little I know each time I learn something new. What I did find incredibly useful was covering the soil after cleaning it out. It’s been a good five or six months, give or take, and there are barely any weeds. Just throw down any old bedsheets, not newspaper!, and keep them from blowing away. As you can see I’m also trying out pre-warming the soil with the largest planter. That’s planned as an onion bed, red and yellow. I’m also preheating the pot that I’ll plant my ginger in in the greenhouse, because I couldn’t not try growing ginger. I covered it all back up after scattering the tea. I’d say in anther two, three maybe, years that that soil will be vastly improved. The smallest planter has soil that was heavy and dense but with compost has turned so light you can plunge your arm into it. A strange measure of worth, but accurate. That’ll be for carrots, all going well. With this it’s what you put in now that affects the future, you won’t see it immediately, but if you carry on planting, digging, weeding and toiling you’ll notice the work getting less and less, the plants improving and so on. See, there’s a symmetry here after all. Okay, I’m off to admire my soil photos. I’m joking, in part at least. Until later.

2 thoughts on “Better Days and Sodden Teabags

  1. Great philosophical post. Really.
    Food for thought: about the dried fruit that didn’t agree with you, I was wondering: most of them are treated with our Archenemy over here, namely sulfites / sulphites. Or they coat them with glucose syrup, another wonderful product… Now we only eat organic dried figs and dates. In the U.S. the safe ones are labeled “no sulphur added”.
    If ever you get your ginger to grow, I would like you to ship me a piece !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think for me it’s the high histamine content, I probably always struggled with them, but as it’s usually a delayed reaction I had trouble pinning it down. If nothing else I feel better and have an excuse to add coffee to bread. It’s a histamine liberator, but since I’m careful I’m okay with it most times. I feel like a juggler sometimes!

      If I can get it growing I will gladly pass some on. I think it might take a few years to really get going, but I enjoy the challenge of waiting and the fun of watching.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

