Beautiful Imperfection

 photo WP_20170120_001_e_zpsdwgowhtm.jpgIs this a recipe blog? A garden blog? A philosophy blog?! “This is a blog?”

What a week for posts, dearest reader, so many posts, so little reason. What? Like hope these posts shall spring eternal. Well, actually this might be it for a while. I’ve burned through all the recipe ideas I had and there isn’t much else to do but eat them. I just thought, since there is a new addition to my Vegetable Medley Pasta Sauce, all found via the hyper-link, we’d have a bit of a natter. Firstly, I love this keyboard, you can’t see me typing, but I am content in my travels across the letters. A happy hand writes better posts. Not really, but it’s better then correcting a wealth of typos. Second, I tried the pasta sauce and it’s a vast improvement on just butternut. There was a slight sweetness that was lacking before, a little more complexity of taste. With all this odd weather an extra hit of vegetables in a meal isn’t going to go amiss. We can safely call it a success.

 photo WP_20170120_003_e_zpssttj330e.jpgI should look into rainbow vegetables, maybe a few at least.

I had a butternut to use up, a few straggling carrots and a slight surplus of sweet potato so I decided to try something new. I roasted all the ingredients for the pasta sauce this time around. There are roasted vegetable soups, so this is hardly ground breaking. Still, it brings out a sweetness that isn’t there with just boiled vegetables. You do need a little more vegetables due to shrinkage. I’ve added all this to the page listed above. It’s all really simple.

 photo WP_20170120_010_e_zpsjbftqwi4.jpgI didn’t let them go too far.

I had a delivery today, of new bulbs. I’ve bought some later blooming bulbs. Crocosmia George Davison, Begonia Scent of Angels, Nerine Bowdenii Mixed. I’m still waiting on George Davison, but since they’ll be planted later n the year it doesn’t really mater all that much. I have also been buying cheaper bulbs, but I felt like being  bit extravagant. I love the idea that they’ll just continue to grow and multiply. I just realised I’ve been ignoring the title. Shameful, you should apologise. What?! Me? I’m ever wrong. Don’t be silly.

 photo WP_20170120_007_e_zpshxnd1dmf.jpgYou can just about make out…I’ll zoom in.

 photo WP_20170120_008_e_zps7b1m3ziw.jpgThat’s better.

If the garden has taught me anything it’s that there’s very little in perfection. One small flaw and the whole thing is a failure. Perfectly aligned borders, properly placed plants, that isn’t what nature is. It’s a hodgepodge of colour, vibrant, loud, often-times obnoxious. I do try to keep things neat as I can, bu if I only focused on exactness I’d lose out on so much. A perfect ring of  flowers is lovely to look at, but even if it’s crooked as ram’s horn it’s still a pretty bunch of flowers. I’ve been cleaning up our front garden. Sinking pots to contain bulbs, which will be surrounded with small border flowers, that way hey don’t get lost or damaged and you can be sure that the flower’s roots won’t damage any bulbs. It’s incredible how many planters you end up with. Pots strewn about from every corner. That’s why I love the bag planters. So easy to organise. I might not look it, but I do like an element of order in my chaos.

 photo WP_20170120_009_e_zpsq1rr9c3o.jpgIt’s not blurry, your eyes are just odd.

One problem with the corner garden was that the plant, painted sage to be exact, was too large and ran over the edge. I was going to put a board down to keep it clean, but instead I decided to sink a long planter. I will get a few more and do the rest, it might need a pot on either end to finish. Once all this is done, I’ll clean it up, pop down a few bulbs in the planters and wait for the seeds I’ll be growing to germinate. Small ones this time, I swear.

 photo WP_20170120_011_e_zpshm4apb4k.jpgIt’s a small garden until you have to clean it up.

There were white lilies in the centre, well, around it. I dug out the babies and spread them all over the middle. Then on the outside is a mix of small colourful flowers, each with a different colour. Let me check my notes, they’re: Peacock Orchid Acidanthera, Sparaxis Tricolour, Triteleia Laxa, Oxalis Deppei Iron Cross. The names don’t mean much to me, but it never hurts to know. I hope it’ll all turn out nicely. You can be certain I’ll be keeping you updated, whether or not you want me to. Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Imperfection

  1. Typo, typo… Nothing oDd about my eyesight, Jack, I think your much praised new keyboard is playing tricks on you and putting words in your post (as opposed to putting words in your mouth): my eyes are getting oLd, I need to see my eye doctor before they fall out from straining to read so many blogs every day! I hope to still be able to see the photos of all your pretty flowers after they come out. 🤓
    Roasted vegetables are excellent. I no longer make French fries / “chips” the traditional way. I now place the cut up potatoes, drizzled with olive oil, in a tray in the oven for about 30 minutes. Tasty, healthier, and no more fried oil smell in the kitchen! I also bake beet this way. Are you allowed beets?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I gave up deep frying when I gave up potatoes, though I miss it occasionally I do think it was the best decision I’ve made. I am able to eat beets and I even grew them last year. I’m thinking of buying some golden beet seeds this year, just to be different. I’m also going to try baked sweet potato fries again soon, I know now that they won’t be so crunchy and I won’t keep burning them while trying to get them crispy. I’ve also heard roasted parsnip chips are supposed to be rather tasty.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

