Jerk Chicken Rub

 photo WP_20170208_002_e_zpsblnwcs0r.jpgI also made some Buckwheat Flour Tortillas.

Update February 2017: I added a Tahini sauce, tweaked from here, it goes extremely well with the jerk chicken, it really helps balance out the sweetness.

 photo WP_20170117_001_e_zpsmat3wev8.jpgChanged, only slightly, from here.

Okay, who knocked off the head of my crocus? I’ll find you, you, you jerk. Ho-ho, what a segway. Seriously, I find who did it and they’ll end up in my compost bin, all three of them. Violence and new recipes, that, dear reader is why we’re here. The new recipe I mean, put down that bat. I’ve found out that it was indeed the marinaded meats that was causing discomfort, lemon as a standalone seems to be fine. That’s part of the reason that there a tahini sauce over this recipe whereas you might prefer it as a filling for a wrap or sandwich instead. I just wanted to test out lemon and the sauce was what accompanied the marinaded meat so here we are. I’m currently typing on my new keyboard and it’s much closer to my old one, the key are receding away happily under the dancing fingers. My copy of the New Band Maid album arrived today so the speakers are blaring out and alls right with the world. Well, close enough at least. I have a few posts to type tonight so be prepared for an overdose of yours truly. As if there could ever be enough of me, answer me otherwise and I’ll take up the bat, dearest reader.

 photo WP_20170117_004_e_zpsytfcomgy.jpgWhy isn’t mine photogenic? Hrumpf! I took a whole two seconds to snap this photograph.

I do keep inadvertently ending up with a typo worthy of Balaam whenever I type the word as, look it up, this is a family blog. These keys need to be smashed, so forgive me if any strange typos end up being missed. So, no marinade, no nightshades, no, no actually that is a problem, but here I am, humbled by my own majesty. I lucked onto this recipe and since there was only a little cayenne I could easily ditch it without affecting the final dish. This is pretty nice, it does have a bit of a kick thanks to the contrast between the sweet sugar, as (I almost missed that one!) opposed to sour? Er, forgive me!, and the warm spices. It’s pretty moist too thanks to the quick cook and resting. As I said it might be best as a sandwich filer, but today is pasta day and I don’t deviate from my routine for anything.

 photo WP_20170117_007_e_zpswmlami4e.jpgDon’t do this, or do, whatever. I’m a great food blogger.

I’m probably going to end up searching for more suitable spice rubs in the future, there are a lot of recipes out there, but finding something to suit my exacting requirements is difficult. Nightshade intolerance seems to be pretty rare, I can’t find much about it that I don’t already know and I really struggle to find fellow nightshade bloggers, but I keep trying. It’s all we can do really. Not much left to add, dear reader, I have another recipe to pop up, something simple, nothing too exciting. See you then.

Ingredients

2 Chicken Breasts
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Tbsp Brown Sugar
1 Tsp Ground Allspice
1/2 Tsp Salt
1/2 Tsp Freshly Ground Black Pepper
1/4 Tsp Cumin
1/8 Tsp Ground Cloves
1/8 Tsp Cinnamon

Sauce

2 Tbsp Coconut Cream (If solid then melt in microwave)
1 Tbsp Tahini
1/2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
1 Clove Garlic Grated or Equivalent in Paste
Pinch Salt, Cumin and Nutmeg

Method

 

1. Mix together all the Sauce ingredients until smooth and set aside.

2. Mix together all the dry Ingredients in a bowl and then dredge Chicken until completely covered.

3. Preheat non-stick pan, add Oil, and when hot add Chicken. Turn to medium-high and cook for 7-10 minutes or until Chicken is fully cooked. Rest in foil for a further 5 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Jerk Chicken Rub

  1. The next time you start maundering, yes, maundering, complaining that winter is too long, I’m signing you up for a photography class! Then you can share a tip or two with your dear readers, especially those of us co-bloggers who can’t for the life of them take a picture of a soup bowl that would reveal all the vegetables that went into it…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have plans this year to keep things alive well into the Winter and to keep “Jack” happily in the garden. I have a real appreciation for food photography, but I’m very lacking in the necessary skills. As long as a photo resembles the end result, I’m content. I don’t believe in disguising what’s really there. Maundering, me? Why I never! Heh.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

