Microwave Buckwheat and Rice Flour Cake

 photo WP_20170114_013_e_zpsf9r8q4hx.jpgA microwave bread recipe for every reader of the blog. All seven of you.

I’m joking of course, there are far more than seven readers. There are right? I better check! Here I am again, this time no hyper-linking, with another slight twist in the saga of microwave cakes and breads. I wanted to try buckwheat and rice flour because they often marry well in fast to bake or cook recipes. Pancakes and quick, instant almost, cakes are the perfect medium for the basic rice flour and the ever outstanding buckwheat. Outstanding, me? Well, yes, I guess I am often out standing…in the garden. Not much to say here. As a standard these breads and cakes are fluffy, easy to get ready and are all just slightly different enough to be interesting. This one is much nicer than an all rice flour version, it has the lightness, but none of the rubberiness. I went with sweet as I felt like a peanut butter and chia jam sandwich. The all buckwheat makes for a great sandwich bread if you omit the sweet elements. These prove how easy gluten free can be even without gums or added starches. A quick post as I have another coming in a moment. Pop to the microwave category and you’ll get a better idea of what these breads offer. See you in a moment.

Ingredients

23g Buckwheat Flour
23g Brown And White Blend Rice Flour
7g Ground Flaxseed (1 Tbsp)
1 Tsp GF Baking Powder
1 Large Egg
50ml Milk or Water
15g Sugar
Dash Vanilla Extract

Method

1. Grease microwave safe bowl with Butter or Olive Oil.

2. Whisk together the Egg, Milk, Vanilla Extract and Sugar. Then Whisk in the Flours, Flax and Baking Powder. Batter will be smooth and thick. Pour into greased bowl.

3. Cook on full heat for 3 minutes. Cake should be springy to the touch and will double in size. Place plate on top of the bowl and turn out. Let cool slightly and serve.

Variations:

 photo WP_20170119_006_e_zpsxceaounr.jpgSticky Coffee Gingerbread

For the Cake: Use 25g Brown Sugar. Add 30g Treacle alongside side Egg and replace Milk with strongly brewed Espresso. Add 1/4 Tsp Ground Cinnamon, Ginger, Allspice, 1/8 Tsp Ground Nutmeg, Cloves and a pinch of Black Pepper, or 1 Tsp Gingerbread Spice Blend, along with Flour. Cake may take up to 3 minutes to cook.

For the Sauce: Add 25g Brown Sugar and 50ml strongly brewed Espresso to a saucepan. Keeping stirred, heat on a medium-high heat until Coffee has evaporated and Sugar has thickened slightly and started to Bubble. Remove from heat and stir in 1 Tbsp Butter and a dash of Vanilla Extract. Return to the heat and cook until everything has combined and thickened slightly, should take a few minutes at most. Pour over Gingerbread.

16 thoughts on “Microwave Buckwheat and Rice Flour Cake

      1. Okay thanks. Flax egg usually tend to be disappointing in anything other than brownies.
        Thanks for being honest. I hate it when bloggers pretend it will turn out the same and it’s nothing like what it’s meant to be!

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I like flax eggs in recipes that don’t rise much or at all. Too many bloggers claim that any substitute will work, any flour can be used, it’s irresponsible and down right useless. I always state things as they are, I hate to see people feel they’re at fault when it’s a recipe that’s wrong. I think I might have a recipe link somewhere to a vegan microwave cake, I’ll just have a look and see if I can find it for you.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Funny, I was on another blog just about 10 minutes ago*, and she suggests a starch-free GF flour mix of: 100g buckwheat + 100g rice flour + 50g amaranth. Worth a try?
    *Not to worry, you’re still one of my favorite writers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are other blogs?! I’m not the centre of all things blogging? Heh. Sounds interesting, I wonder if it’s a sweet rice flour, as I know from experience brown and white won’t hold in larger quantities even with buckwheat. Than again, I might jest about it, but I really don’t know everything, there’s always room for new discoveries, which makes all this so much fun.

      Thank you, I enjoy writing these posts, but knowing others enjoy them too makes it even more worthwhile.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

