Buckwheat Flour And Almond Bread

 photo WP_20170105_005_e_zpsfbcpcope.jpgBrain: Start it with “What up chicken butt”, It’ll be hilarious. “No!”

See what I save you from? Truly I am a bastion of staunch decorum. Still on a temporary keyboard, I hope to have my new one soon. I’ve spent far too long on gaming keyboards to be comfortable on anything else. These keys are too close together, they need to make room for Jesus. I should change that, but I can’t stop laughing. Forgive me, dear reader, I know what I do, but I just can’t stop myself. I might be the only one laughing at these posts, but even if I’m not I’m laughing the hardest. Anyway, bread. Yup. Buckwheat has become something akin to plain flour to me, it finds a use in every recipe. Here I use it because an all almond loaf would be costly, about six Euro a loaf, smaller and possibly mushy. So, I followed in the idea of a Buckwheat and Flaxseed bread and took a little guidance from these scones. Since I don’t use gums or added starches I need to use what I can to keep the breads together. Thankfully buckwheat more than fits the bill, not only does it hold, but it also makes a wonderful loaf.

 photo WP_20170105_006_e_zpsi5sf8tu6.jpgThe tops are always funky.

Have you broken your new year’s resolutions yet? I’m very good with mine. I never make any. Heh. I just carry on trying be to as healthy as possible. I’m looking at carrots currently, not at this moment, just in general. I think I prefer a little bite in my carrots, I want them toothsome not toothy, mind. Come on! That was clever…ish. I might try them in a bread or muffin. Watch this space. As far as the exciting details of my daily trials and tribulations goes, well, let’s see….Oh! I have, let’s get this right, ten raspberry plants planted in six seventeen litre pots. They’re currently lined up against the wall, where the bindweed was. Still is I suppose, smothered in its slumbering repose. Well deserved if you ask me. I’ll remember to take a photo yet.

 photo WP_20170105_010_e_zpsciiietvx.jpgEat the heel whilst the bread is warm, it’s one of the baker’s true joys.

So bread, yeah. This is a simple load so I won’t try to do too much in describing it. It’s your standard buckwheat bread, just a hint of crustiness, but thanks to the ground almonds you get a lovely springiness tempered to a slight firmness by the buckwheat. All buckwheat makes for a dry loaf in my opinion. Edible, but there are better options. Flax, chia, almonds. Even hemp hearts helps. Of course with bread it’s what you put on it that matters, right?

 photo WP_20170105_012_e_zpssqgmg3em.jpgBlueberry and Strawberry Chia Jam.

I’ve gone off jam, too much sugar sneaking into my diet. So there dieth (It’s in the bible, it’s a word!) the jam. Instead I made some chia jam and froze it. It’s not exactly the same, but the trade off is that you get a jam with way less sugar. I find all strawberry needs too much chia to thicken, whereas blueberries just thicken up just right. A mix of the two was just what the baker ordered. A little butter and a scoop of jam and alls right with the world. So, not much else to say. I have reached a fun point in my reading, which when the gardening starts might take a slight hit, I’m currently on my fifty fifth P.G Wodehouse book. I think he wrote over ninety novels so I have a ways to go yet. Speaking of the garden. As if I talk about anything else? Dear reader you wound me. Hrmph, anyway, I think my legs need a bit of reconditioning. All the squatting over the last few days, when you’re my height squatting helps, has really made my legs ache. I’ll get back on form soon enough, plenty of bags of compost to lug, wheelbarrows to push to and fro, soil to be forked and forked again. Fun times. Okay, I’m glad to finally have a recipe to share, I do worry about you, dear reader, are you sure you’re eating enough? Of my food I mean, I can only assume you’d never go to any other site for recipes, right?!

 photo WP_20170105_015_e_zpsk43wgj5a.jpgHard to tell if I’m joking. Even I’m not sure.

Ingredients

125g Buckwheat Flour
75g Ground Almonds
100ml Water
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Large Eggs
1/3 Tbsp Baking Soda

Makes one small loaf.
Can be frozen.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (No Fan).

2. Grease (With Butter or Olive Oil) and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. In a large bowl mix together the Egg and Olive Oil. Add the Buckwheat Flour, Ground Almonds and Baking Soda and stir until combined, then gradually add the Water and stir until a thick Batter has been formed. Add more Water if too thick.

4. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 40 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until dark brown and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Cool in tin for 20 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire rack.

6 thoughts on “Buckwheat Flour And Almond Bread

  1. So you planted raspberries, good for you! I hope your harvest is bountiful. Last year was such a disappointment for us. The year before that was much, much better. You’ll be able to freeze them, they are such an expensive item in the stores.
    I’ve made chia jam in the past, so as to cut down on our sugar intake. Yesterday I read an article about life without sugar in the New York Times which I shared with my husband and kids. Here it is, to be read on a rainy day while your tantalizing buckwheat loaf is baking in the oven: (My, did it rise!)

    No sign of rain over here. Very cold (-8 C this morning) and dry, dry, dry.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I started freezing fruit a few years ago and never looked back. It was one of the best tips I’ve ever heard. I had three large freezer bags of strawberries last year, I hope to repeat the harvest this year too.

      It’s a quirk of buckwheat flour. It rises well when used in bread and seems to favour these outrageously pointed tops. I’ll give it a read, thank you. It’s staying above zero here. I’m finally using a thermometer outside to check the difference between the greenhouse and the garden. Take care.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

