Coconut Nut Butter Custard Sauce

2017 Update: Due to a problem with Photobucket, see here, there will be a lot of recipes without photos. I will be slowly redoing the recipe pages, as best I can, but many other posts will be impossible to replace. I’m doing this in my own time, while continuing to update the blog with new recipes and posts. If you’d like to donate, any amount appreciated, you can do so here. The site will always be free, the recipes will never be locked behind a paywall, but this is a lot of additional work. I’m not demanding or begging, just putting it there so if you feel like repaying my hard work you have that option. I don’t make any money from the site, all that I do here is to help others, I couldn’t charge for that.

 

My new year’s resolution? 1080.

Now that’s a prompt recipe. We went from the idea to the end product in just two posts. So here we are. Now, in possibly too much detail, we figure out why, what and, no, that’s it. So I’ve gone from Gravy to a double boiler custard sauce. A diary free sauce no less. Let’s start with the first ingredient. This will be less humorous and more educational, or attempt to be. The coconut cream. Why? Twofold, I can’t tolerate milk and nut butter, cheese and nut butter is no problem, but milk seems to sour in my stomach, not always, but consistently enough to be bothersome. Secondly, as we’re not using diary, coconut cream is fatty and rich. A nut milk, or soy, but no soy for moi, would work, but whether it’d have the right richness is questionable. If I had no trouble I’d have opted for double cream, coconut cream will do here. Nut butter’s up next. Natural works best, better control of the oil and texture in recipes, if you use smooth and it already has sugar added it can make a mess when baked. Same problem here, oily custard would be icky. If I had cashew this would be milder and closer to a true custard sauce, as it stands it works fine an you can use any nut butter. Next: Egg. Okay, eggs add richness to a sauce. Well, egg yolks, but waste not want not. If you want it richer, use two egg yolks. I’ve used them since the early days, you just need to watch for them getting scrambled. Hence the cooling after melting. This is based on my curd so an egg was a must. The gravy is rich, but it wouldn’t have the consistency I wanted in a custard so this needs an egg. Sugar: Yes. And…What? You need the sweetness, plain peanut mush, skins on remember, and coconut don’t make an appetising sauce. Vanilla extract because, well, it’s a custard, of a different colour, but a custard none the less.

Chill for pudding. I preferred it hot, but just about.

What’s next? Method? Sure. Did you note my specially constructed double boiler? Yeah, glass bowl meets pot and you can make curds, ganache and custard without risking scrambled eggs and disgustingly burnt remnants at the bottom. Do whatever suits yourself. I’m rough and ready, in no regards fancy. You know me, dearest reader, striving for the best result I can accomplish with what I have. So boil, pop it in and stir, I used a plastic coated whisk, I’m not sure if it matters, but just in case it does I’ll add that. It does seem to take a while to really start, but when it does it thickens without much effort. Now, I don my chefs whites and pretend I know what I’m talking about. Bear with me, and apologies to trained chefs. You could think of this as a rough pastry cream, but in my experience, limited to a wheat roux based pastry cream, I didn’t find this fit the bill. It’d be closer to a cornflour based pastry cream, but even that pales in comparison to a roux based custard. Don’t cry, we don’t need wheat. It’d be closer to a crème anglaise, at least while warm. You see if you let it cool it’d resemble an American Pudding rather than a pourable custard. While warm the consistency is much smoother and would be delicious with cashew butter if you’re diary intolerant. Chilled it makes a enjoyable treat that tastes strongly of coconut and peanut. Now if you wanted to use this in a dessert I’d say as a warm sauce would be better. It’s just barely warm when you take it off the heat so don’t mistake me when I speak of it being warm. Over a fresh apple tart, fruit or just eaten cheekily with a spoon this is a pretty nice sauce. If you wanted it on a cake I’d think of it similarly to a thinner curd, a surround of buttercream could hold this in the centre, but once cut, it would slowly dribble. It’d be better poured over a slice of cake.

So, I think this can be said to be what I expected. I made it up in my head and the end result matched what I thought. So, where do we go with it now? Hard to say. I’d say it could make a cheese sauce. You could perhaps use it in a lasagne. You might have to thicken it more, but with cheese and combined with meat or vegetables it might not be as thin anyway. I’ve frozen and baked my Cashew Butter Gravy in Cottage Pies and it holds up well so there may be something in that. That’ll be up to an intrepid reader to decide to undertake. So ultimately it’s a simple sauce that cover more than my own allergies. I’ve often said it never hurts to branch out and if in doing so you help someone else then it’s a win-win situation. Alright, that’s that. Until we meet again.

Ingredients

160ml Coconut Cream
1 Large Egg
2 Tbsp (30g) Natural Peanut Butter or any Natural Nut Butter
25g Sugar
Dash Vanilla Extract

Method

1. Put Peanut Butter and Coconut Cream in a glass bowl and heat for one minute in the microwave or until melted. Let cool.

2. Add the Egg, Sugar and Vanilla Extract and Whisk everything together. Bring a pot of water to a boil and place glass bowl over the pot making sure it doesn’t touch the water. Reduce the heat slightly.

3. Stir constantly until mixture becomes thick, but still pourable. Takes about 10 to 15 minutes.

4. Either serve hot or pour into a bowl, let chill and serve as a pudding.

3 thoughts on “Coconut Nut Butter Custard Sauce

  1. Hi Jack, dearest writer! I have a question about the coconut cream, as it seems it is not always the same depending on what you buy. What brand did you use, so I can look up the ingredients? Did it look like a white solid block, or was it more a thick cream-like texture?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used Thai Gold, It’s Coconut Milk and, I think, it’s 0.03g Guar Gum. It comes in a can and it’s always solid, but then it always cold here, heh. It does seem very similar to coconut milk, just a bit oilier.

      Ah, found it in Google:

      Organic coconut extract (99.6%), stabilizer: guar gum.

      That’s all. Hope that helps.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

