Nightshade Free Sweet Curry Powder

 photo WP_20161214_003_e_zpsmnjptbyu.jpgOriginal can be found here.

Hello, dearest reader, here I am again, humbled by my own proximity. No, that isn’t right. I am a pearl in the garden of modesty. No. Now I’ve started laughing and can’t remember what I was saying. I am ever and always myself and forever here for you, that is, unless I’m not. Not here, I mean, I’m always me. Except when I’m Jack. I’m the acme of confused ramblers. It’s hard to flesh out a post about a spice blend, but somehow I make up a decent word-count. So, I’ve spoken about the lack of nightshade recipes, or rather nightshade+ recipes. I came across this by accident. This is my third curry powder blend. It’d not bad, it does have a slight hint of sweetness, nothing major, but it’s different enough to warrant saving for future use. I do wonder how common nightshade intolerance is, I’ve had it since I was born. Babies might be prone to spewing, but I’m told I went above and beyond. Always making the extra effort, that’s me. So we’ve gone from pearls in gardens to nauseous infants. You don’t usual see such wondrous combinations. I’ll leave you an absurd haiku and I’ll see you anon. No, I’m not calling you anon, it means later, yes I know it’s also used online. Shush!

From the mouths of babes
Spews not shiny pearls for the garden
Please, no more potato

Ingredients

1/2 Tbsp Ground Cumin
1/2 Tbsp Ground Cinnamon
1/2 Tbsp Ground Nutmeg
1/2 Tbsp Ground Cardamom
1/2 Tbsp Ground Ginger
1/2 Tbsp Ground Turmeric
1/4 Tbsp Ground Cloves
1/4 Tbsp 1/4 Tbsp Anise or 1/4 Tbsp Fennel

Method

1. Place all everything into a jar. Shake to combine. Store in an airtight jar.

6 thoughts on “Nightshade Free Sweet Curry Powder

  1. “acme”, “anon”… you seem to like using these words, you have used them before, dearest blogger 😄!
    Thank you for sharing this spice mix. I can’t buy just any curry blend, apparently my Significant Other has problems with cinnamon (sigh).

    An update on my upcoming Christmas log: in spite of trying several different combinations of ingredients / techniques, I haven’t been able to make a spread that will hold together (the famous “crème pâtissière”). Rice flour just won’t work like, say, tapioca starch. But you might have better luck than me, as you can use regular cow’s milk. You could even add some butter while it is still warm: as it cools down, it would help the cream set.
    Anyway, I should be posting this recipe some time tomorrow… Christmas is just around the corner, no more delaying!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You could say I go anon and anon. If I had free run of a kitchen with unlimited ingredients I think I’d spend all day just trying to see what could be done with free from ingredients. Sadly I just work with what I have, but maybe some day, dearest commentator. All joking aside, that really sounds like tremendous work and I’m really looking forward to seeing the end result. It sounds like the acme of free-from baking 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

