After Six Years…

…I’m still here. Six years of what? Is everything an appropriate answer? No, oh, well, of my journey. The journey I started alone and kept at by myself. Of losing ten stone, or 140 pounds if you’d rather, of keeping it off and never slipping up. Of going head to head with three major food intolerances, diseases, whatever and starting my whole life from scratch. I’m not spilling my guts here, I’m one to keep a lot to myself, but you don’t need to know everything. I’ve talked about the pain, the, the suffering, no other word dear reader, but let’s look on the positive side here. I went from a mess to the me you see in these posts. The baker, the cook, the gardener, dearest Jack in other words, the DIY’er and more besides. The struggler, the striver, ever pushing towards being just a bit better. Never perfect, but never needing to be. I’m not sure what to say here, what do you say? I could be an utter terrible person and try to sell my life as a diet plan, I’d die before I did that, trust me on that. I’m just here, a simple person, I did more than I can often comprehend and as to how, well, I don’t know. A terrible answer, but the truth. I just looked at the alternative and then decide to fight.

I would be remiss if I didn’t thank you all for your continued support, it really means a lot and though I might be reticent at times, other times you can’t shut me up,  that’s me and I’m learning that that’s okay. I’m also learning I don’t have to be a bastion of any community, nor is there a need to be an advocate, saviour, take your pick. I’m just me, if I help people then great. I’m always careful to never be reckless or irresponsible, but I can stop, pull back whenever I want. That’s been a huge lesson for me. I guess what I’m saying is it’s never too late to change your life and that it doesn’t have to be this huge all encompassing thing. All I’ve done, as huge as some of it was never made me feel that different, better sure, but not a different person and none of it was a cure all, it just helped. Little pieces connecting, joining and making it easier to be happy were what comprised this journey. There’s more to do and I’m okay with that. I don’t know if this makes any sense, but well, that’s okay. I’m heading into my seventh year and I’m still willing to learn and share what I can. As I always say, it still holds ever true, if someone like me, a hugely obese mess, could fix his life then you can too, but don’t look to be perfect or to become anyone’s idea of the ideal you, just try to be a little happier, be prepared for a lot of pain and hardship, but know that that all goes towards the end goal. Grit your teeth, dig in your heels and stand firm, face towards your joy and start working towards it. There aren’t any short-cuts, but once you’re here you won’t mind the journey it took. Then repeat it all again and keep getting better. Dearest reader, thanks for stopping by. Dearest me, thanks for hanging in there. We’re doing okay.

12 thoughts on “After Six Years…

  1. I think that on my own journey (almost four years now) to better health I have gained a lot more self-confidence, at least in cooking. I guess this can be applied to almost anything new that you have to learn: seems overwhelming at first but if you keep on trying, even after hitting some hard spots as you say, you may not end up the best but you you get somewhere and it’s such a feeling of accomplishment. Let me congratulate you on your incredible weight loss, most people cannot do it without someone else’s help. Keep on blogging and sharing, I enjoy being called “dearest reader” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very well said and thank you. I honestly think I’d never have attempted any of the work I’ve done this year back in the fat-days. It’s never too late to change, I’m learning that still. Congratulations on your four years, I can’t wait to see what other recipes you’ll create in the future.

      Funnily, I’d forgotten this myself, my readership used to be gentle reader, but at some point became dear. As long as people are happy with it I’ll keep thinking of you all as dear reader.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

