Microwave Amaranth Flour Bread

 photo WP_20161109_003_e_zpsmmsiyjm6.jpgEnglish Muffin? But I’m Irish.

Dearest Readers, it’s been a long/short/adequate amount of time. Yet again here I am, humbled by my own majesty, your forever friend has a new recipe. Or, again, an oldie reworked. But first I’d like to discuss an aspect of free-from blogging I’ve been ruminating on for a quite some time. Although the recipes here are made for my diet I do oft-times cater to other diets as well, some recipes cover a huge spectrum of diets, but there is a problem I face. I can’t cater to all. No matter what it just can’t be done, I can only do so much with each recipe. Also I can only share so much, if I tried to imagine every possible personal requirement or question I’d go mad. At the same time I’ve never expected to be catered to either. This isn’t a shut up whining kind of talk, it’s just a bit of forgiveness for not being perfect. If it’s possible to take care of myself and help others, then I’ll do it, but when helping others become detrimental to myself then I have to stop. In life a helping-hand is a wonderful gesture, but when that hand slips away we need to be able to walk on our own. You need to be able to find information yourself, though I try to be informative in each post as possible, you need to ask questions, but to also be willing to find the answers yourself. I know a lot more than comes out in these post and I’m willing to help, more than willing. But if I hadn’t put the work in, and it’s been all me for the most part, I’d never have learned so much. I guess what I’m saying is be willing to go it alone, be prepared to do it yourself,  be willing to ask for help, and appreciate it, that’s a whole other post, but know you can do it yourself. Believe in you. Even in the smallest ways. It builds up: Confidence, skill, understanding, knowledge. Then some day you’ll help others as you’ve been helped and will wonder if you’re doing enough. Chances are you probably are, just don’t stress it is what I’m coming to learn. Okay recipe time, spanky.

So, you know the drill, there are numerous microwave recipes here all made from one recipe. What’s the difference here? There’s no sugar, no vanilla either, I could go into a ramble about sugar-free and the problems I’d face classifying all these recipes. Is it no-added sugar? No processed sugar free? Low sugar? etc. Again look above, you know what sugar requirements you have and like me and my nightshade intolerance, my nightshade intolerance and I?, you’ve no doubt spent long hours huddled in front of the screen’s glare reading a recipe with no tags to see if it’ll be suitable or adaptable, over and over again, so instead of my making a mess in trying to list sugar-free I’ll leave it to you to see what suits. Lazy? No, I don’t think so. If you have to go through nearly five hundred recipes, variations counted of course, to suit a theoretical person, especially one that you’d need to learn all about first, then you’d probably leave it out too. I imagine they’re smart enough to do their own homework. I have faith in theorized readers. As far as taste goes, there is a strong taste of amaranth, quick question: Does anyone know if toasting the flour helps? Any answers appreciated, but a strongly flavoured topping will nullify that. Texture-wise it’s soft and slightly doughy, but not mushy, just a nice balance between firm and soft. It’s one of the better microwave breads/cakes. It’s quick to grind amaranth into flour too so that’s a bonus. It takes longer than some of the cakes do, the rise isn’t too high either. I cooked it for two minutes, but the top was still sticky so, two and a half is probably the best. These recipes can be lifesavers when you’re stuck for something filling to eat. Okay, that’s it for now. I’ll see you soon.

P.S (That stands for: Please, Spanky) I say to butter or grease the dish, but I make these in a plastic jug and they just pop out. It’s better to do it right, but if you just want to mix it all in one jug and cook it in the same I won’t say anything. Just do it at your own peril, I accept no liability, only adoration.

Ingredients

45g Amaranth Flour
7g Ground Flaxseed (1 Tbsp)
1 Tsp GF Baking Powder
1 Large Egg
50ml Milk/Water
Pinch Salt

Method

1. Grease microwave safe bowl with Butter or Oil.

2. Whisk together the Egg, Milk, and Salt. Then Whisk in the Flour, Flax and Baking Powder. Batter will be smooth and slightly thick. Pour into greased bowl.

3. Cook on full heat for 2 1/2 minutes. Cake should be springy to the touch and will double in size. Place plate on top of the bowl and turn out. Let cool slightly and serve.

4 thoughts on “Microwave Amaranth Flour Bread

  1. I have never toasted my amaranth flour and am not sure it would not, I mean, I would not, ruin it if I tried. It would probably end up burned or something. I envy your boldness in using one type of flour only! Trying with small amounts like these is safer. I remember too well several miserable attempts that we had to force ourselves to eat over too many days…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember trying an all amaranth flour loaf. It came out fine, firm enough, but when I cut it, it was solid, but so squishy and gooey. It’s was like solidified porridge. It’s amazing what you can make with just a single flour, ones like buckwheat have a surprising amount of stability when baked.

      Like

Leave a Reply

