Roast Julienned Sweet Potato

2017 Update: Due to a problem with Photobucket, see here, there will be a lot of recipes without photos. I will be slowly redoing the recipe pages, as best I can, but many other posts will be impossible to replace. I’m doing this in my own time, while continuing to update the blog with new recipes and posts. If you’d like to donate, any amount appreciated, you can do so here. The site will always be free, the recipes will never be locked behind a paywall, but this is a lot of additional work. I’m not demanding or begging, just putting it there so if you feel like repaying my hard work you have that option. I don’t make any money from the site, all that I do here is to help others, I couldn’t charge for that.

Excuse the amaranth, the chick…just excuse everything.

What a creative title. Okay, I admit, dearest reader, I couldn’t decide whether the curls held sway or whether the crunchies were the better choice, the twisties were discussed in dark corners but came to naught. Let’s go utilitarian and descriptive. This is the kind of recipe that can rankle, it’s extremely basic, barely even a recipe and it require a specialized tool, I use a peel that also juliennes, but whatever you use the thin strips are the key to crispness. Still it worth sharing. I’ve had no luck getting “chips” to crisp up, I actually stumbled across this idea while screwing around when sautéing sweet potato. Though this does take a while, and the sweet potato reduces by about half, it handily doesn’t require much oil. You may or may not know that I don’t deep fry as a rule.

I used this as a side, but it’d be better left as a handy snack. It needs to be left to cool to achieve maximum crunch and lends itself to being eaten by the hand rather than the fork, No! Not foot! Even less to say about this recipe. You don’t know how I struggle! How I strive towards a decent word count. How I toil towards a fulfilling post. Well, you probably do, since we’re all bloggers. Though most of you do this far better than I do. I’m not jealous, more, awed. Though I do have one thing you don’t, dearest reader, No! Not a rash! I have your support. Hah! Gets you right there, doesn’t it? Right in the rash…wait, no!

Ingredients

3 Medium Sweet Potato
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper to Taste

Method

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Peel the Sweet Potato and Julienne then spread out over the prepared tray. Drizzle over the Olive Oil and stir everything together. Sprinkle over the Salt and Pepper. Bake for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent burning. until Sweet Potato is dry and crisp. Remove from oven and transfer to a plate and let cool. Sweet Potato will crisp up more as it cools.

6 thoughts on “Roast Julienned Sweet Potato

  1. I often bake “not potato fries” with all sorts of root vegetables: sweet potatoes, carrots, parsnips, and, more recently, beets. Like you, I drizzle a little olive oil and sometimes Provence herbs. Much tastier than boiling them like my mom (Thank goodness she doesn’t have Internet) and healthier than frying them. And this is what it’s all about, isn’t it: healthy, tasty food.
    Your posts are very nicely written. I love reading your culinary prose!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m learning to incorporate more vegetables into my diet, part of the fun that comes with that is learning all the ways they can be prepared. Sadly with my dietary restriction there are a lot that I can’t use, but that just means I will do more with what I have. I even grow vegetables I can’t buy.

      Thank you, you’re very kind.

      Like

Leave a Reply

