Welcome to the Rose Garden

 photo WP_20161029_002_e_zpsqvo1jljg.jpg

Take my hand, dear reader, and we’ll go on adventure. Oh, come on! It’s not that dirty, see? *Wipes on dirty hoodie* Perfect. Jack promised you something to see, maybe you’ll enjoy it, perhaps you’ll be apathetic. But you’d never do that to your forever friend, Jack, right? Nah, we’re friends until the end. Of this post at least. Photo heavy post incoming. Follow in the dusty boots of the gardener, the man, your old pal. Let’s make like children and make believe, or most adults if we’re being honest.

 photo WP_20161029_003_e_zpsqowyj38z.jpgThe sound of concrete beneath your feet fills you with determination. Wait, wrong game.

It’s done! The rose garden is finished. From a wild mess to a tamed, dormant variegated garden just waiting to come into its own. I still have spaces for a few more roses, I’m also thinking of buying some cheap miniature roses for the wall planters. I love the stones, they’ll protect the matting beneath and they really finish it. I’m really rather proud of this. I don’t say that much. I can’t wait to see what it’ll look like in bloom.

 photo WP_20161029_004_e_zpsmmtyppqi.jpgYou go, er, east. Swish goes the hoodie. Crunch crunch go the stones. Silently stoic remain the roses.

There are no bottoms here, the rose’s roots can travel down as far as they need. There’s also a lot of compost added to the soil. Made by yours truly. With a lot more getting ready. The small potted one is a climbing variety so I may have to put up a frame for it to climb. Next year, still more work next year, just less and less to do this year. No, I’m not crying. Don’t be silly…*Blubbers*

 photo WP_20161029_006_e_zps2suk06if.jpgYou turn and squat down. Almost tumbling into the roses. -1 Agility.

Ah, roses, fragrant tea roses. Sounds better when you give these plants their full titles, right? There are blessings, lover’s meetings, pascali and, nuts!, *Checks notes* Waltztime! I hope there will be others so I can fill in the two remain buckets. The long planters are tulips, I think. The boards are nailed and stained. Praise me is what I’m hinting at.

 photo WP_20161029_005_e_zpsfkbdd8vr.jpgYou forget to release the crouch button and waddle along the path. +1 Absurdity.

These roses were huge so we didn’t dig them up. Just covered them with dirt when the buckets went over them. I did place one too far out hence the cut board. You can’t see it, but there are gape hyacinth starting. Which is supposed to start in spring. The weather isn’t autumn weather so the poor plants are confused.

 photo WP_20161029_007_e_zps9jyvmprp.jpgYou attempt to start a conversation with the early starting anemone but to no avail.

Pssst. There’s a stump under that bucket. It was too big to move. The bucket was deep enough for bulbs. I think they are anemone and tulips. There are black tulips somewhere.

 photo WP_20161029_010_e_zpszdrtig5m.jpgYou notice the space for the miniature roses, but you don’t have that item. Game Over.

 photo WP_20161029_009_e_zpsrdjv5gl6.jpgYou stop to smell the roses. You’ve gained the cliché skill.

Pretty, eh? I really can’t wait to see what it’ll all look like next year, when all the weeds can be managed, the roses can be properly cared for. Dead-heading, feeding, pruning, the works. I even bought rose gloves, more like gauntlets, that should make it easier on my hands.

 photo WP_20161029_011_e_zpsahloz2fu.jpgYou wave goodbye to the rose garden, hoping the poor lavender will make it to next year too.

 photo WP_20161029_012_e_zpsklglspjr.jpgThe fruit bushes and rhubarb remain inactive. You wait. Forever! Game over.

My blueberry bush, white bucket above the darker blue. Is growing! I really hope it survives the Winter. I’m going to clean up the concrete platform next year. Probably put a few pots there. Climbing plants on teepees most likely. You hand is kind of slick there, dear reader, are you nervous? Is your heart pounding being so close to your idol? No? Oh, well, stay slick I guess.

 photo WP_20161029_013_e_zpsr2uhshgy.jpgYou pick up the brick. +1 Brick.

It’s pretty bare here. I’m going to put the gladiolus here, but they’re a Spring planting bulb. So I have to wait. The weeds are staying down as you can see, which is really good. It means this was all worthwhile.

 photo WP_20161029_014_e_zpswv4qovol.jpgNo game can be without lens flare!

Snap dragons never die. You can see I changed the area around the angel statue. It’s just a squared off area now. There’s matting there too so no more weeds between her toes.

 photo WP_20161029_015_e_zpsinb9j8sh.jpg*Narrator gone out to lunch*

 photo WP_20161029_022_e_zpsnxtly2t8.jpgYou’ve come to the great divide. Where stone and bark clash and you just idle around.

There’s a ring of Narcissi in the pedestal planter. There are two pots so I can pop one out and hold the shape with the other. Those are just cuttings in the coal scuttle, I jokingly put them there and they started to bloom.

 photo WP_20161029_023_e_zpsa7miptg2.jpgYou have reached the greenhouse! Its surround of stones fill you with the temptation to jump on them.

You can see I painted the board and the stepping block. I love how the stones really finish off this whole area. I need a few more bags, but I just buy them here and there. I never felt quite so happy messing around in this side of the garden as I was when I was spreading those stones. There was an amazing sense of accomplished. This went from weeds and muck, to, well this. Still so many empty planters, well, they’re filled with potential.

 photo WP_20161029_024_e_zpsdp0uuanl.jpgYou grab some yellow strawberries before progressing. They smell delicious.

 photo WP_20161029_025_e_zps003zfmjr.jpgThe door slides, the putty yields and you climb atop the stone.

I love this place. The heat even when the outside is cold. The places where the plants I’ll grow will be. The few remaining stragglers. It took some work, but it was worthwhile. Lets look around, eh?

 photo WP_20161029_028_e_zpsmeeqrasx.jpgYou examine the roses. They’re rosey. Very, very rosey.

The top tray of roses have taken root a bit. Hopefully they’ll survive the coming months and really thrive. Time will tell. The others are still being waited on.

 photo WP_20161029_026_e_zpsundkq4su.jpgA zombie bay laurel attacks!

One year, for one year this sat in the greenhouse doing nothing. Then it was hardened off and left outside. It just stayed the same, never dying, never growing. So, being the soft-hearted person I am, I repotted it and left it in here. It started to grow! You can see the little buds starting. Even the little scrap came back. Weird, huh?

 photo WP_20161029_027_e_zpsjw5sufwi.jpgYou touch the chilli plant and most of the leaves tumble off. You attempt to flee, but fail. +12 Guilt.

 photo WP_20161029_029_e_zpsdzsly6le.jpgYou climb out of the greenhouse. Wondering how long you’ve been in there and if you’ve grown.

 photo WP_20161029_030_e_zpszr1iybom.jpgCongratulations! You’ve discovered the secret ex-nun’s curtains area. It’s replete with scraps of matting and plastic. Pinned down with cut bucket handles.

 photo WP_20161029_031_e_zpsry9pwniy.jpgYou attempt to climb onto the compost bins, but Jack quickly scolds you and attempts to climb on himself.

This is where the squash will grow in abundance, I miss them already. I think no matter how much of them I grow it’ll never be enough. I’ll probably go for ten here. Maybe a few climbers somewhere else. The nice thing with the matting is I can put pots about. I’ll probably put planks in front of the squash and put stones on what will be the path.

 photo WP_20161029_032_e_zpsh8nuhxsg.jpgYou’ll complete this puzzle later. Missing: Compost.

 photo WP_20161029_039_e_zpsrpmcmikr.jpgYou lift the bin to see if it does have a bottom. It does indeed. You remark. To no-one.

The problem with compost in bags is that it’s so compacted that it spills everywhere. So I bought a bin and poured it into that, I hope it’ll prevent spillage and waste. It’ll never be clean, but it’ll be better than muddy.

 photo WP_20161029_033_e_zpsxzbmrppm.jpgYou’ve failed as the golden raspberry plant appears to be dead. Good job! Jerk!

Hopefully it’ll come back, but I can get cutting from a friend if all else fails. The coal scuttle strawberry, ex-coal scuttle I guess, seems happy in its pot. Hopefully the weeds that ran rampant under the tree will be easier to manage now.

 photo WP_20161029_034_e_zps2wfuuhjx.jpgYou become entangled in the blanket and fall asleep. FOREVER! Seriously?!

The boards are down and awaiting stones. This whole place was destroyed by weeds and roots. It’ll get a better deal this way. Not to say a few planters won’t be shoved in here and there.

 photo WP_20161029_035_e_zpshhll9isu.jpgYou sneak behind the dog guard and admire the lily and lupin garden.

 photo WP_20161029_037_e_zpszw6g5em2.jpgYou climb up and find the anemone starting here too. You scold them to no effect.

 photo WP_20161029_038_e_zpsdxnsw6kr.jpgYou did it! You won. What? Where are you going?

 photo WP_20161029_040_e_zpsznmob2wp.jpgOkay, you finished the puzzle. Geez, perfectionists.

This was fun, right, dear reader, let’s say so. There won’t be much changing in the garden for a while, so this will be the last big garden post. Not the last garden post, you can’t stop Jack from talking about gardens, no one can. For now I collect my seeds, kill some weeds, plan and wait. I was given two Hokkaido Pumpkins, never Red Kuri Squash! Why? I like them being called Hokkaido Pumpkins. What I’ll do is toss them in a tray of soil and see what happens no guarantees means no finesse. They may be hybrids for all I know. Which is strangely exciting. No more mystery seeds for me. If I know the variety them I’m okay with trying them out. I’m keeping the chilli seeds as they did really well. I have to dry the squash seeds. They took a long time to even get ready for drying. At least I have some purée for baking tomorrow. Probably old recipes, so nothing new, sorry.

 photo WP_20161029_041_e_zpsdx2grl6c.jpgThus ends your epic adventure. See you next time.

Leave a Reply

