Buckwheat and Banana Flour Scones

 photo WP_20161029_043_e_zps61o0xtq7.jpgGot another post coming, let’s do this quick.

Banana flour, oh, banana flour, you’re just not clicking. Think of this recipe as more instructive than useful. I have far better scone recipes, this is based on the Buckwheat and Amaranth, but it turns out more like the original recipe all the scone recipes came from. It’s dry, crumbles and dries out much too fast. You’re probably wondering why I’m sharing it at all. Well, it’s edible, nothing special, but you can eat it. Also: It uses banana flour, which I’m trying out every way I can think of. As I said it’s instructive rather than useful. Maybe you’ll take something from it, maybe you won’t.

 photo WP_20161029_044_e_zps8fyb4xf5.jpgOily, greasy mounds that spread.

Okay, yeah, the dough was a tad crumbly, it was also oily which seems to happen whenever I use oil and banana flour. It just doesn’t seem to be absorbent. At least not to a useful degree. I’m not bashing banana flour, it’s just there are better flours and I’m going to be honest in all I do here. The taste is still there even with the small amount used, as I suspected the sugar does help cut it down a bit. Enough, but be prepared for a strange taste. Not much to say, they were dry, not as dry but that’s probably more to do with the amount of flour to egg ratio.

 photo WP_20161029_045_e_zpsp9gozvfd.jpgCut them carefully.

I think, and this is pure speculation on my part, that banana flour might work best in a runny batter. The bread, as I said was like water when it went it yet it baked solid. Dry even. It’ll probably mean it’ll make springy pancakes, but I will look into other uses for it. I won’t be trying it again, I’m not happy with it so far. Not to scare you away, you have to try everything once, you never know when you’ll find the perfect ingredient for your dietary needs. I’ll keep using it until its gone.

 photo WP_20161029_047_e_zpsysmf1iug.jpg Onto the fun post.

Ingredients

100g Buckwheat Flour
30g Banana Flour
25g Sugar
1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
45ml Olive Oil
1 Large Egg (70g-75g in Shell)

Method

1. Preheat oven to 200c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Add all the dry ingredients to a bowl and set aside. Mix the Olive Oil and Egg with a fork until combined, then mix in the Egg mixture into the dry ingredients with a fork. Keep mixing until a dough starts to come together and stops crumbling. Knead by hand when firm enough to work. Dough should be fairly firm, may be crack slightly and need to be reworked and slightly oily. Form into a ball.

3. Divide Dough into equal parts and roll into a ball and press onto the prepared tray.

4. Bake for 20-25 minutes until scones are firm and lightly browned. Transfer to a wirerack and let cool. Eat while fresh.

2 thoughts on “Buckwheat and Banana Flour Scones

Leave a Reply

