Buckwheat and Amaranth Flour Scones

19th October Update: Just a quick note: They tasted even better after a few hours, which is the reverse of the usual way these turn out. But I didn’t make it a full day because I ate them all, still, I don’t see why they shouldn’t be okay for at least a day. Still testing the bread.

 photo WP_20161018_009_e_zpswdbygzte.jpgTeeny tiny dainty scones.

I feel like that toad enraging butterfly. (Kipling, Google Toad Harrow) Flitting to and fro. Also like the toad. I hope these recipes and posts are alright. The funny thing with a new recipe is sometimes you try a little, carefully planned and executed and end up only with failures, other times you try too much, guessing and flying by the seat of your pants and end up with new recipes. Recipes that you have to type up. I don’t know which to prefer. Joking. At least in part. So, we’re onto the second post (First here) and we have, yet again, a scone recipe! Just pop to the recipe page and control F scone. I’m tired, go, do my work, dearest reader. This is a smaller version, but if I’d doubled it it’d be too big as there’s more flour than the usual half measure. More like the quinoa version, I think.

 photo WP_20161018_014_e_zpsymzgllcj.jpgI made these an hour ago and I’m already forgetting.

So, you’ve possibly seen my scones before. Some are dry, others are crumbly. These, actually, these might be the best yet. I’m getting ahead of myself a bit, but it needs to be stated: These are light, firm, not crumbly and just break into two halves (As opposed to three, yuk yuk yuk). They only contain a small bit of amaranth flour, but it seems to be a flour best used sparingly. I think these might be a little better at saying fresh, but, again, you’ll have to wait for that test. You could probably ditch the sugar here, I don’t think it’ll alter the recipe much, outside of a little sweetness, but you could add that after baking if you’d prefer. These don’t need added liquids. The egg is enough, I’m learning that with amaranth flour that’s the best way to go. Amaranth flour recipes aren’t that common so I’m flying blind here. I’ve found it better as a companion flour, used mostly with dry ingredients and less is more. Not much to go on, but you’ve got recipes to try thanks to my tomfoolery.

 photo WP_20161018_026_e_zps8vx3pfxk.jpgThey even rise! That’s new.

All scones rise? Not when you use dense, gluten-less flours, dear reader. Well, you get a bit, but not much. These almost doubled in size. They became little puffed up scones. The tops just popped off cleanly. Backwards order I know, but the dough came together easily, I had to keep adding buckwheat flour, but the recipe reflects the final amount. The raw dough feels similar to the buckwheat and almond scones in that it feels almost too raw. Hard to describe. It’s as if it hadn’t mixed together enough, but it has, it’s just a strange feeling. You might have to fight your baker’s instincts and just pop it in the oven. They cook fast too. When I pulled one open I was shocked at how soft it was, it’s firm, sure, but it wasn’t that dense dry scone that the buckwheat version is. So, amaranth flour, it might be the best way to softer baked goods. I did find as it cools it firms up somewhat, but it didn’t dry out. It was still the same texture, but the outer crust had hardened. This was true for the bread and the scones. I’m still learning what to do with amaranth flour, but I’m making progress and it’s looking at least interesting. Okay, that’s that. See you again soon. thanks for dropping by.

 photo WP_20161018_029_e_zpspase8wme.jpgYeah, jam and butter scones with chicken and cheese sandwiches. I’m in no way sophisticated when it comes to food.

Ingredients

100g Buckwheat Flour
30g Amaranth Flour
15g Sugar
1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
45ml Olive Oil
1 Large Egg (70g-75g in Shell)

Can be frozen.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 200c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Add all the dry ingredients to a bowl and set aside. Mix the Olive Oil and Egg with a fork until combined, then mix in the Egg mixture into the dry ingredients with a fork. Keep mixing until a dough starts to come together and stops crumbling. Knead by hand when firm enough to work. Dough should be firm and slightly sticky, only slightly. Form into a ball.

3. Lightly dust a work surface with flour and either press the dough flat, about an inch thickness, and cut into wedges or roll out and cut into rounds using a cutter. Then place onto the prepared tray.

4. Bake for 10-12 minutes until scones are firm and a light gold colour. Transfer to a wire-rack and let cool.

Variations:

Gingerbread: Use 30g Dark Muscovado Sugar, 1 1/2 Tsp Gingerbread Spice Blend and a dash of Vanilla Extract. Everything else is the same.

 photo WP_20161222_004_e_zpsg7tc9cb6.jpgOptional: Top with Microwave Caramel Sauce.

3 thoughts on “Buckwheat and Amaranth Flour Scones

Leave a Reply

