Buckwheat and Amaranth Flour Bread

19th October Update: The bread was even better the second day. The crust softened and lost that hard crumbly edge. I wanted to keep it longer, but, you know, I ate it. I still have some in the freeze so I’ll let you know how it freezes. Should be fine. I might try it with apple blended with the egg to give it a bit of a moisture crumb. All things in time.

 photo WP_20161018_002_e_zps8b70okwd.jpgWhen you stir it together it becomes this. That’s helpful, right?

Heya Dear Reader, I’ll preface this with this: Thing are a bit hectic here, I’m blowing off some steam by doing a spot of baking, so if any of this doesn’t seem up to par then I apologise, but I hope you’ll forgive your old pal, Jack. And me too of course (Hazing new readers is fun). So, to start at the end, fun, fun, fun, I’ll be leaving some of this in the freezer and some in a cake-tin left out. I always check the freezeability, but I’ve heard that amaranth has staying fresh power so I’ll test that too. This page will feature an update in a few days when I’ve found out what can be done. It’s probably safe for freezing, but I like to be through.

 photo WP_20161018_003_e_zps27jtsfvj.jpgIt’s battery? That’s not helpful? Oh…

So, I’ve got two recipes today, tonight, whatever, the first I’ve tried, three times, I think. The first was an all amaranth flour bread, it held, but it was gooey and nasty. The second was a half and half split with buckwheat flour, but again too soft and mushy even though it held. So I took the version I do with flax of my Buckwheat Bread and fiddled with it a bit. Changes? Ummm, double eggs, weighed in shell, I’m learning, more olive oil, less water. Half actually, too much water and amaranth is a bad idea and no flax. So a pretty simple tweak. The batter came together the same way as usual, but it had a more, silky or velvety feel. Hard to describe really. That basic recipe  has yielded more bread variations than I can think of right now. A real shining star in my baking repertoire .

 photo WP_20161018_004_e_zpsarvzwavj.jpgI see a person reclining and one by their side, sitting. Maybe I should lie down myself.

So, it all comes together simply. Fast is the word. Even grinding the amaranth into flour is a speedy endeavour. No need to wash and roast like quinoa. The batter is a tad thicker than usual, but don’t add more water. Now, I know you probably haven’t tried the basic buckwheat bread recipe listed above, that’s okay, guilty-ridden Reader, I’m very forgiving, so I’ll lay it out for you. I’s basic, very basic, dry and slightly crusty. Not a bad loaf, but the one I run with regularly is the flax version, it’s bless dry and much better in texture. This one resembles the outer crust, but inside it has a lovely firm, springy, light texture. At odds with the dry outside. Not mushy thankfully. A lovely sandwich bread. I had it with chicken and cheese, which you’ll find revolting in a moment, or next post rather, when you find out what I ate alongside it.

 photo WP_20161018_020_e_zpsftxmgc2y.jpgRest in tin? Hah! My recipe! I cut it hot out of the oven.

You follow the recipe. I can get away with it, because I kind of have to test its limits. I know this look really small, and it is, but you get a better crust to inside ratio with several small loaves versus one huge one. In gluten free baking you don’t get the same kind of textures you do with gluten based baking. Everything can be a bit homogeneous so you look to ways to change it up. Here we have a small loaf, but inside it’s soft, whereas the outside is crispy and dry. That’ll change with time of course, that’s another point: They don’t keep all that well so small, or at least freezeable is best. Though I still have to check out it’s freshness potential. So, that’s it for this recipe. I’ll come back again some time. But as it is now is just fine and dandy. See you in a while.

 photo WP_20161018_028_e_zpsjhlm9s5u.jpgYou can cut it fairly thin too.

Ingredients

170g Buckwheat Flour
30g Amaranth Flour
60ml Water
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
2 Medium Eggs (60g-65g apiece)
1/3 Tbsp Baking Soda
Pinch of Salt

Makes one small loaf.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 175c (No Fan).

2. Grease (With Butter or Olive Oil) and line a 6×3 inch loaf pan.

3. In a large bowl mix together the Eggs, Olive Oil and Salt. Add the Buckwheat Flour, Amaranth Flour and Baking Soda and stir until combined, then gradually add the Water and stir until a thick velvety Batter has been formed.

4. Pour batter into prepared tin and bake for 40 minutes, turning halfway if needed, until golden brown and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Cool in tin for 20 minutes, then remove and let cool completely on a wire rack.

3 thoughts on “Buckwheat and Amaranth Flour Bread

  1. Thank you for this recipe which came in very handy today: no more bread on the freezer, and too little time to make a loaf with yeast (I have started physical therapy, so more trips away from home). I doubled the quantities when I realized my loaf pan was twice the size in your recipe. The bread came with the typical crest! Easy to slice, we had it with cold chicken. Will be freezing half of it.
    Now I have a totally unrelated question: my husband asks if you have ever put rose petals in your compost?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you found it useful. I hope you’ll be back to your usual form soon. I usually just scatter them around the roses, since I’m dead-heading I have a lot of petals everywhere, but they decompose quickly. My compost contains a varied mix, including coca cola, beer and also redbull. People throw away the full cans and they migrate to me eventually.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

