Pumpkin Curry

  photo WP_20161015_003_e_zpsiyyt3a8b.jpgSo much sauce. Just the way it should be.

You know I sometimes drive myself crazy trying to tell if I should post a recipe. All of these recipes are presented as I use them. I spend way too much of my time thinking of all the possible people using these recipes and I wonder if I should adjust to cater to these imagined dependants. Which is silly, isn’t it? I like sharing the recipes, but I’ve never had a recipe tailored to me. When it came to nightshade free curries I was on my lonesome entirely. I like to think that any recipe is appreciated and if you want to eat you’ll tweak it to fit. If not, well then: Phooey to you from me! Now that I’ve lost half my readership, I hope I’m joking!, let’s see what we’re stuffing into our gaping maws today, dearest of remaining readers.

I said on Twitter I was going o try flat-breads and curry with pumpkin. The bread was a bust, steamed squash doesn’t work like roasted. We have an appropriate recipe already so I focused on the curry. Just adding pumpkin to a curry wasn’t an option. I admit I struggle with flavours, I work better when I have a grounding from a current recipe to work with. So I went by what I already knew matched pumpkin: Warm spices, pumpkin spice, garam masala and sweetness. So I went with my garam masala blend. I added the trio from pumpkin spice, leaving out nutmeg and allspice and with a dash of honey I had an idea of what the recipe would be. All theory at that stage. All my curry recipes come from my original recipe which isn’t all that different from most curry bases. It’s simple, but it works well. the onions have to to soften, the coconut reduces, and in this instance helps almost poach the chicken, and it also times well when cooking rice. That part’s for me mostly.

So I wanted a warm pumpkin curry. Did it work? Yes, it was really lovely if I may say so, no one is more surprised than I. It had a warm, almost a tingly heat, which in nightshade curries is non-existent, I imagine it’s thanks to the cloves and had a lovely taste of pumpkin too. If you can use a good quality pumpkin, mine wasn’t great, but it was decent. The pumpkin is cooked entirely in the curry so you lose nothing as far as taste goes. Don’t panic if it’s lumpy before blending, as long as the pumpkin is suitably soft, hence the need for the boil after adding the coconut milk, it’ll blend fine. This was based on my Sweet Mango Curry, I love how tender he chicken is and even though it doesn’t cook long it’s always cooked through fully, piping hot too thanks to the final boil. There is a lot of sauce, this, with vegetables added perhaps it would be suitable for two people. I work with what I have and it suits me as I like a lot of sauce. It’s really silky too and that warmth was really surprising, you could adjust the spices to suit reducing any of the trio to lessen the effect. When cooking taste can be adjusted on the fly, I still struggle outside the exacting nature of baking, but I’m learning my way. If you have a bit of pumpkin leftover maybe you’ll try this. I’ve gone through three medium pumpkins so far so I might need a break, though there are small ones in stock now. I might have a problem, dear reader. Until later.

Ingredients

2 Chicken Breasts, Chopped
100g Raw Pumpkin, Cubed
160ml Coconut Cream or Coconut Milk
1/2 Yellow Onion, Roughly Chopped
2 Cloves Garlic, Cut in Half
1/2 Tbsp Grated Ginger
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1/2 Tbsp Honey
1 Tsp Garam Masala
1/4 Tsp Turmeric
1/4 Tsp Sea Salt
1/8 Tsp Cinnamon
1/8 Tsp Ginger
1/8 Tsp Cloves
1 Bay Leaf

Method

1. Heat Olive Oil in a pan and when hot add Onion, Garlic and Ginger mix and cover. Let cook for 5-10 minutes, on a medium heat, or until translucent.

2. Add Coconut Milk, Spices, Pumpkin and Honey then stir together, bring to the boil then reduce to a medium heat and simmer covered for 10 minutes.

3. When 10 minutes is up use a stick blender to blend the Curry sauce until smooth or add to Blender and return to pot when smooth. Add the Chicken and Bay Leaf and bring to a boil, then reduce to a medium simmer and cook for 15 minutes. Cook uncovered for final 5 minutes. Increase heat if a thicker Sauce is desired, but be careful of burning. Remove Bay Leaf before serving.

13 thoughts on “Pumpkin Curry

  1. I may need to read your blog as part of my stress relief plan. I cook “free from” and “free form”. I use recipes as guides if I use any at all. This curry sounds lovely and I will make it using mango as a sweetener instead of honey. Thanks so much for liking my post and reminding me that it really is therapeutic to read the well written words of those who Know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you’ll enjoy it. I really do find your posts interesting to read, I struggle with a lot of different foods so I can understand at least a part of what you’re going through. I always hope that just one person finds something in these posts, whether it be inspiration or just a brief chuckle, so thank you for taking the time to read and comment. It really does mean a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know what you mean. Feedback is helpful on a few levels. Even knowing that someone else has seen what I posted gives me a little feeling of validation. WordPress doesn’t seem to be showing that right now. I found it thrilling to know I had an international presence! But Ireland isn’t showing up on my map today. Neither are views.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You can never tell who you’re helping, I know that the people who posted recipes, experiences etc will probably never know how much they helped me and so I like to imagine that’s happening to me now too. The reason I started the blog was to repay all that kindness, as best I can at least. I take much too much pleasure in seeing where my visitors come from. I’m more popular in other countries than in Ireland funnily. That’s happened to me too. I think it might have something to do with WordPress accounts not showing up as visitors, but I’m honestly not sure.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this! I have been going through the same worries/doubts: what if my recipes aren’t appropriate for people who react to some of the food? Should I try to please the vegetarian crowd more? But you are right: we are not responsible for anybody (but out of precaution I do have a disclaimer on my blog, it’s become such a lawsuit filing world out there!)
    I love curry. My Significant Other has to stay away from onions, so of course changes are in order for your recipe, but that is not your problem 😉 so let me thank you again for posting it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

