Amaranth Flour and Yoghurt Flat Breads

 photo WP_20161012_001_e_zpswoxuogtn.jpgFreshly ground flour. “For freshness?” Nah, I just can’t buy it.

Ah, amaranth flour, or rajgira flour. Favoured in Indian cuisine…Hah! Got ya! You thought I was going into a generic spiel about amaranth flour, with smug overtones when I speak of Indian cooking as if I’m some expert. I tell you I wish I could eat more Indian recipes, but my many restrictions put the kibosh on that, sadly. I have been on a lot of Indian blogs recently because of my many searches for uses for amaranth flour. I ended up going to my own Quinoa Flour recipe and adapting it. I left out the water as amaranth flour and too much water don’t mix, literally and figuratively. So, I hope India will forgive yours truly, dearest reader. The forgiveness, eagle-eyed reader? I’ve, er, never eaten flatbread outside of what I’ve made myself. Today we have a flat bread recipe using amaranth flour. I’m getting a better understanding of amaranth flour, I have another idea in the works so watch this space.

 photo WP_20161012_002_e_zpspnqucdox.jpgFlat bread and…dirty sink. Ah, food photography.

So, there’s not much to say on the preparation. It comes together fast, there’s no need to add water at all. You can get it fairly thin but push it too far and it’ll tear apart, thankfully it can be easily reworked and re-rolled. A quick fry and Jack’s your forever friend. It tastes of yoghurt, that slightly bitter edge that natural yoghurt has and there is an after taste of amaranth. Nothing too much if you’re used it it. They’re best hot. They have a slight crunch at the edge and a chewy centre. Not a raw chewiness, just a pleasant bite. They’d be great with  a yoghurt based curry, I have a couple of nightshade free kormas and one yoghurt curry (Here, here and here respectively) so you have options. The nice thing with this recipe is that you’re getting a serving of amaranth and all its respective worth. Even if you only eat one that still a decent hit of nutrition. That’s it for today. Not much I can really say on it. A simple recipe, but a nice one to have. Okay, I’ll see you later.

 photo WP_20161012_003_e_zpsvahx6k9x.jpgI didn’t eat it before taking the photo this time!

Ingredients

50g Amaranth Flour
35g Low Fat Natural Yoghurt
1 Tsp Olive Oil
Pinch Salt

Makes Three Small Flat-breads.

Method

1. Add dry ingredients to a bowl. In a separate bowl mix together the remaining ingredients and stir into the Flour with a fork until everything has combined. Knead the mixture until a slightly sticky firm dough has been formed. Form Dough into a ball and cover in cling-film and leave in the fridge for half an hour. Dough will be firm to the touch, but slightly sticky when worked.

3. Split the dough into three parts and roll out, between two sheets of greaseproof paper, into rough fairly thin circles. Handle carefully when transferring to the pan.

4. Heat some Oil in a pan and on a high heat cook the Flat-bread for until browned and blistered then flip and do the same for the other side. Repeat for all Flat-breads.

One thought on “Amaranth Flour and Yoghurt Flat Breads

Leave a Reply

