Amaranth Flour Peanut Butter Biscuits

 photo WP_20160925_001_e_zpsnacdkgjj.jpgI was left wondering if they’d even bake.

I was reading a book that explored the idea of the little parts of our personalties that make up the whole, the ego, or whatever, the id? I forget, as individual voices. It was a horror book nothing that deep, but it did get me thinking about how I write these posts. I often tell the bare truth, sometimes pessimistic sounding I’m sure, but I don’t intend to be that way, really I don’t, dear reader, it’s just I hate to mislead or give a false idea of anything I’m doing here. So if ever the posts here seem to be a shade negative please remember that it’s not ill intentioned, the opposite is probably closer to the truth. Now, in saying that I like to think we keep it breezy and light on the whole We? Why Jack and I! Jack is me, right? Of course. I think Jack is the part of me that’s come about from trying to be better, it’s not the realist in me that drove me to be better, that pushed me to success, that’s the hard voice in all this, instead it’s the part that willing to try, to accept failure and not be crushed by it. Jack is the part of me that’s hoping and believing in hope. You came here for cookies, biscuits whatever, not for a psychological breakdown of your favourite blogger. I am right? Don’t answer that, I think it’d break my heart if you told me the truth. I’m joking, I’m obviously well-beloved. You’re good people is what I’m saying.

 photo WP_20160925_002_e_zps6ipkxtpp.jpgHere, have a biscuit.

I’m going to run through the biscuits preparation, tweaks and baking, fairly quickly and then talk a little about the future of amaranth flour in this kitchen. Sounds cool, hah, just wait, it’s mundane as all out. You’ve seen this recipe three times already, you don’t need hyper-links, right? Good. Just search for biscuits and they’ll pop up. What makes this recipe interesting is that with three very different flours it came together and baked nearly identically. Here, not so much. It was a very light dough, more of a thick batter really. I had to just scoop and plop it out. It took longer to bake and stayed very soft until it cooled. At which point it flattened and became slightly chewy, pleasantly so. So it’s a decent recipe on the whole. I used coconut sugar on a whim and it gave it a wonderful taste. I also skipped creaming the butter and sugar as it’s hard to cream so little to a fluffy consistency. So what of Amaranth? Well, it’s an oddity. It’s an absorbent seed that when used as a flour absorbs liquid but doesn’t dry or firm up. It stays light and fluffy. Where buckwheat and quinoa will take in moisture and become firm amaranth doesn’t. It feels like porridge even when used as a flour. Now what I think so far is this: It’d be better used sparingly and in conjunction with another flour. I can see it giving a bit of bounce to a recipe, but with too much it could just make baked goods soggy. I haven’t reached a real understanding of it yet, I will, I hope, in time, but that will take a lot of tests and trials. But when I do it will be more than just a flour used in a blend, seemly at random, it’ll be used to its fullest potential. That takes time. Thankfully I have amaranth and ample time. Watch this space.

Ingredients

90g Amaranth Flour
85g Coconut Sugar
60g Natural Peanut Butter or Any Natural Nut Butter
60g Butter
1 Flax Egg (1 Tbsp Flaxseed and 3 Tbsp Water)
1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
Dash of Vanilla Extract

Makes 13 Biscuits.

Method

1. Preheat oven to 160c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Mix the Sugar and Butter together with a fork until combined. Then mix in the Peanut Butter and the Flax Egg until fully incorporated. Finally stir in the Amaranth Flour and Baking Powder until a slightly sticky and very light dough has been formed. Rest for 5 minutes.

3. Scoop 1 Tbsp worth of the dough onto the prepared tray. Don’t flatten out as they will spread while baking. When all the dough has been used up bake the Biscuits for 20 minutes until golden and just slightly firm to the touch. Let the biscuits cool on the tray for 10 minutes, they should be firmer, though still a little soft they should be able to be handled, by then and then transfer to a wire-rack to cool completely.

One thought on “Amaranth Flour Peanut Butter Biscuits

Leave a Reply

