Sweet Mango Curry

2017 Update: Due to a problem with Photobucket, see here, there will be a lot of recipes without photos. I will be slowly redoing the recipe pages, as best I can, but many other posts will be impossible to replace. I’m doing this in my own time, while continuing to update the blog with new recipes and posts. If you’d like to donate, any amount appreciated, you can do so here. The site will always be free, the recipes will never be locked behind a paywall, but this is a lot of additional work. I’m not demanding or begging, just putting it there so if you feel like repaying my hard work you have that option. I don’t make any money from the site, all that I do here is to help others, I couldn’t charge for that.

No longer awash in sauce, now just sauce adjacent.

7th May 2017 Update: I’ve tweaked the recipe so that the sauce will reduce further and as a bonus the flavour is also intensified. I’ve also listed the sultanas as optional, use them if you can and if you want an even sweeter curry.

Ah, curry, well nightshade free curry. Still, curry is what I’m saying. Curry.

I just popped off for some rooibos tea and to tear the neighbours teabags. Hmmm? What did they do to me to deserve such ill-treatment. You have me all wrong, dearest reader, they drop down their used bags and vegetable peelings for my compost. Working with three bins means I have plenty of room for recycling. An untorn teabag is useless in composting, unless it’s able to break down and many aren’t. Tea, coffee grinds, and occasionally horse muck, are the keys to fast breaking down rich compost. You came here to have your taste buds tantalised and instead I’m talking about equine excrement. What a load of horse sh…Woah! This is a family blog. Heh. This is where food comes from. I hope to have my own compost to feed my squash next year. My recycled planters already contain this year’s compost so that’s a start at least. I regret not making a gift-horse oral-observation here. But, hay, what can you do?

So, Curry? Anyway. Oh, come on, impatient reader, I have tales to tell and a virtual captive audience, imagined possibly? Sure, but still. Today I was running putty. Yeah, I didn’t know what that was either. Well, truth be told I’m just jamming the putty in the gaps and someone else is cleaning it up. This will seal the greenhouse, which is an extraordinary amount of work as it’s huge, old and the weather hates me. But, it’s getting there. All the perspex is almost in and the putty is filling it all up. Though it seems to be eating it. Next year I’ll be able to stand in my green house, hopefully, surrounded by my herbs, flowers and vegetables. It’s an investment, expensive this year, as is the garden, though I’m helping as much as possible to alleviate the cost, but it’ll be worthwhile in the years to come. A epoch in the annals of the life and times of your friend Jack. He of the puttied shoes and siliconed tracksuits.

So, we reach the recipe. I’ve been eating my Mango Curry for a while, but it’s not clicking with me. It’s too bland without the chilli heat. So I accidentally discovered a better way to prepare it while just screwing around. The result was a sweeter, richer curry sauce. I like a lot of sauce, which makes for great eating, but terrible presentation. You’ll have to adjust the recipes here to suit yourselves, if I tried to please everyone I’d be a gibbering wreck, or more of one. What you now have is a sauce thickened by the fruit and hemp. I think the extra butter might help too. It’s really smooth and luscious. It’s a bit sweet, which may cloy if you’re not a fan of sweet savoury dishes. It’s a great way to get some fruit and spices into you. As for the taste, well….it’s got a kick of honey. My tastebuds aren’t connected to my verboseness. Food is either good, bad or in the case of my amaranth bread test: Oh! God! Blearg! Ewwwwwwww! Do be careful when boiling down not to burn the sauce as it will become sickly sweet.  I think I’ll be less likely to tire of this. I use the same meals for a fortnight of meals so getting tired of one is rare but it does happen. As always you could leave out the chicken and go for a vegetable medley. See you sooner rather than later.

Oh! About the curry powder, I couldn’t cut down the original to fill a teaspoon, as I have done before. But it’s a nice blend and it never hurts to have around, right? If you can do nightshades then any hot curry powder would work.

Ingredients

2 Chicken Breasts, Chopped
100g Fresh or Frozen Mango, Chopped
160ml Coconut Cream or Coconut Milk
1/2 Yellow Onion, Roughly Chopped
2 Cloves Garlic, Cut in Half
2 Tbsp Butter
2 Tbsp Shelled Hemp Seed
1 Tbsp Honey
1 Tsp Nightshade Free Hot Curry Powder
1/4 Tsp Turmeric

Optional: 1 Tbsp Sultanas

Can be frozen.

Method

1. Heat Butter in a large non-stick pan and when melted add Onion, Garlic mix and let cook for 5-10 minutes, on a medium heat, or until soft.

2. Add Coconut Milk, Turmeric, Curry Powder, Mango, Honey, Sultanas if using, and then stir together, bring to a boil, reduce to medium and simmer for 10 minutes.

3. When 10 minutes is up add to Blender and return to pot when smooth. Add the Chicken and bring to a boil, then reduce to a medium simmer and cook for 15 minutes. Increase heat if a thicker Sauce is desired, but be careful of burning.

Variations

Banana Mango: Replace Sultanas with a Chopped Medium Sized Banana.

6 thoughts on “Sweet Mango Curry

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Curry |
  2. Pingback: Time to Bulk Up |

Leave a Reply

