Amaranth Flour Crackers

 photo WP_20160922_001_e_zpsxvjiqvxw.jpgOne for a three year test and one for this recipe

Ah, my artisanally-inclined reader, we have here rustic, freshly ground amaranth flour. Rustic because it wasn’t perfectly smooth and freshly ground because I’m not buying it when I have the seed and a coffee grinder. Can I level with you, reader? I’m not feeling that this flour will be a rip-roaring success. I had tried a single flour recipe years ago with expiring amaranth so I thought I’d try an even buckwheat split and, sad to say, it was disgusting. I think amaranth flour will be best used in small measures with other flours, but more probably it’ll be best as a cooked seed. It’s delicious as a side and I hope to find more ways to use it.

 photo WP_20160922_003_e_zps3gg0mkwn.jpgIt looks like a country, doesn’t it?

So, in saying that, here’s an all amaranth flour recipe! You should know I don’t give up easily, but I did want to give fair warning in regards to my amaranth uses. I won’t be trying too many flour based recipes with it, but one or two may slip in regardless. Curiosity killed the cat and satisfaction made it fat. So with my second portion of flour I attempted a variant of my Buckwheat Flour Tortillas, but the dough was much too crumbly for wraps so I went for salty crackers instead. Okay, knowing that I know nothing, I will say the following: Amaranth flour seems better suited to recipes with little to no moisture. In bread it became springy, but too soft, a whole loaf made with just amaranth is just a gooey mess. Edible, but not something to be thought of. Whereas with quinoa flour you get the absorbent properties that when played with can yield a soft, but firm loaf. Why? Heh. like I say, no idea. I’ll just try to play with it’s strengths and see what I can do with it.

 photo WP_20160922_004_e_zpszzfbyylq.jpgI made a half batch, but the recipe yields double this as it’s more convenient.

Okay, the dough came together without any additional water. Maybe amaranth flour has some kind of moisture, or something in it that doesn’t allow much more. Maybe it’s the vitamin C that’s present? I know it’s used in baking sometimes. Someone better informed than I will have to look into this. The dough is crumbly. It rolls thin with no need for dusting, but if you roll it and cut it you’ll need to gather up all the pieces and reworked it. It’s tedious, but you do get a thin cracker out of it. These are really basic, they taste of amaranth, not unpleasantly, and are better with a dip of some sort. They’re basic, but considering the ingredients they’re worthwhile. There’s a lot of good in these and they’re easy to prepare. I have one more recipe to type up so I’ll leave this here. I’m not done with amaranth, not at all, I love the seed, it’s delicious when mixed with nut or seed butters, cheese too, but the flour might be a dead end for me. I like to use all of one type flour in a recipe and work from there. If anyone has any suggestions please do share them in the comments. No guarantees I’ll use them, but I’m sure people searching for recipes will be grateful too. See you next post.

 photo WP_20160922_005_e_zps4wdvatds.jpgThey’re really crunchy and crispy.

Ingredients

100g Amaranth Flour
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Flax Egg (1 Tbsp Ground Flaxseed and 3 Tbsp Water)
Pinch of Salt and Pepper

Makes 24 Crackers

Method

1. Mix the Ground Flaxseed and Water and leave in the fridge for 15 minutes or until thick.

2. Add Amaranth Flour and Salt to a bowl and then stir in the Flax Egg and Olive Oil with a fork until everything has combined. Knead the mixture until a dry, slightly crumbly dough has been formed. Form Dough into a ball and let rest for a few minutes.

3. Roll out the dough as thin as possible, then cut out circles. Dough will need to be reworked a lot.

4. Place Crackers on a lined baking tray. Brush the top of the chips with Olive Oil and then sprinkle with Salt and Pepper. Bake at 175c (Fan) for 10-12 Minutes or until lightly browned crunchy.

4 thoughts on “Amaranth Flour Crackers

  1. Dare I say, that contrary to the opinion, that amaranth can’t be used on its own because of intense flavour that is not very useful in sweet baking, I have found both home ground amaranth and amaranth flour worked exceptionally well, though in only one recipe I have tried. I have read about amaranth as the only dry ingredient in chocolate cakes, combined with cocoa powder. In my case I used amaranth only because several of my readers asked to find the use for it, and because I had amaranth seed in my cupboard for some time. I did not even buy it, it was given to me by the person who could not tolerate it.
    My simple explanation of delicious taste and amazing moist, without being wet, texture of amaranth and ricotta/cottage cheese tray bake goes to the use of apple puree/sauce as a part of ingredient mix. I have found that using apple puree in recipes balances and sometimes completely takes away intense or peculiar taste of some gluten free flours. Can’t say that I understand the chemistry, but beating eggs with sugar and apple puree (sometimes without sugar in savoury recipes), does something to the mix which adsorbs flavour or neutralises them in baked product. It goes even for some fats with distinct flavours, coconut oil for example. I did not test this observation on lentil type flours, I do not tolerate them well and do not use them in my baking. I have written about this observation at length, because it might be useful for inquisitive bakers. In general, using approach where some dry ingredients can be partially replaced by anything semi-dry as fruit and vegetables, fresh or in puree form, as well as soft cheeses, can help to reduce grain/seed/nut/flour load in the recipe, and make baking product as a balanced meal in itself. Sorry for being so long, but had to give my support to amaranth. The texture in the bake was as I have never encountered before in any baking product. Stays moist and soft forever.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for you insights. I won’t give up on amaranth, but I will have to take my time to learn it. I find it so good cooked as a seed it’s hard to take some for grinding into flour. I still can’t believe how much of a difference apple makes in baking. I’ll keep trying with amaranth while I have it. Thank you for your continued support.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

