Carob Oreos

 photo WP_20160914_002_e_zpspljlv3j8.jpgIt looks like a failed cooking experiment in a cartoon.

It’s me again, Dearest reader, with a new recipe. Aren’t you…THESE ARE DOG BISCUITS. I’M SORRY! *Cough* Now, now, hear me out. Don’t give me those Puppy Dog eyes! I’m sorry, I’ll be serious. Yeah, okay, this is a dog biscuit, but the ingredients are suitable, and really they’re used everywhere, for humans. They’re a healthy dog biscuit. What interested me was the lack of sugar. That and it uses carob, which insultingly is now considered for dogs rather than people. What a waste of good ingredient. It should be for us and our furry friends. I for one like carob, as does Naru, who ate hers plain. She doesn’t get too much carob as it makes her drink too much. So, where are we? Well, we’re eating dog biscuits. I used the carob dough from the above recipe, which when made up and baked is plain, but edible. So I thought I’d fill it with some buttercream and you know, it really worked. I was surprised. I suppose whenever I use buttercream it’s in an already sweet recipe and you lose the sweetness of it. Here it works as a contrast to the dry, unsweetened biscuit.

 photo WP_20160914_004_e_zps3pxage85.jpgI forget how many it made. About twenty. I think.

So, we get a carob oreo. Which are absurdly dark. Black as pitch as the saying goes. I did vacillate in whether to call them that or Vanilla Buttercream centred Carob Buckwheat Biscuits (A mouthful, eh?). A bit of cheekiness in the naming, but they bare some similarities to that ubiquitous cookie. A somewhat hard biscuit with a strong taste, carob is no chocolate sure, but it has a flavour profile that changes with coupled ingredients. No sugar means a taste more like dark chocolate. Just less bitter. Now, you and me, informed reader, know that copycat recipes rarely work as well unless they use similar ingredients, chances are they work because they change so much. This isn’t an oreo, don’t think that for a moment. I actually don’t, didn’t I guess, like oreos. This is a carob oreo, so if anyone has made this before, well, then I’m sunk, but as it stands I assume I’m the only one. So, if anyone make this and it doesn’t taste like this then they’re wrong. That’s just the way it is. Joking of course. This is just a biscuit with a lot less sugar than I could’ve used normally. A but of fun that turned out much better than I’d have thought it would’ve. It dunked well in a cup of rooibos tea.

 photo WP_20160914_006_e_zpsbjzyqujv.jpgI baked them in two batches, no need to chill the second batch.

I’m going backwards here. The dough is a hodgepodge of ingredients. It comes together fast, it’s basic, but easy to roll. I have better recipes for this kind of thing, but if you want a no sugar recipe, well there’s honey, oh, that sugar free bit confuses me, if you want a “low sugar”, a “no refined sugar”, a recipe without cane sugar is what I’m saying, then here we go. One caveat, this is really filling, deceptively so. That’s one of the reasons it caught my eye, there’s a lot of good stuff, that’s a technical term, packed in. You won’t feel quite so guilty when eating these, not that you should ever feel guilty eating. Stop lecturing? Got it! So if you want you could take the biscuit and eat it plain or you could find a healthier filling. Do share if you have any suggestions. Until next time.

 photo WP_20160914_007_e_zpsegcqmgbk.jpgDouble stuff them if you’d like.

Jack Update: (I feel as if I should dash out of the room and dash back) I grew chillies! I can’t eat them, but I grew them. The butternut squash experiment failed as the person who started the seeds left them too long in small pots. I’m not humorously referring to myself, I got them from someone else. I don’t do that to my pal the squash. There was one setting, but it died in the cold. They’ve been shoved, pummelled and compressed into the compost bins. Yeah, bins plural, there were a lot of vines. The good thing is the teepees held perfectly so if I wanted to try again next year with my own seeds I could grow them vertically again. As it is now there’s little growth, but a huge task in front of your old pal Jack. I need to dig out and lay down plastic in two huge areas. Then one gets sunken pots, wooden edging. Another gets the same, minus the pots and an additional grassy area for growing next year. I foresee pots in the rough areas when nothing can grow. Once the plastic is down it should make the weeds manageable. Another planter, the last thankfully, needs to be prepared. I also want to move a rain-barrel so more fiddling with guttering. I hope this means all next year will be devoted to growing and this will have all been worthwhile. Spare a thought for Dear Jack, will you kindest of readers, he has high hopes and not much else. Until we meet again.

Ingredients

Biscuits

200g Buckwheat Flour
75g Natural Peanut Butter
1 Medium Egg (65g in Shell)
1/2 Ripe Banana (About 35g), Mashed
35g Carob Powder
1 Tbsp Coconut Oil, Room Temperature
1 Tbsp Honey
1/4 Tsp Baking Powder
Dash Vanilla Extract

Filling

150g Icing Sugar
35g Butter, Room Temperature
Dash Vanilla Extract
Milk as Needed

Method

Biscuits

1. Preheat oven to 150c (Fan) and line a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Mix together all the wet ingredients until smooth. Then stir in rest with a fork until a crumbly dough has started to form. Start to knead together, wet hands if dough is too dry and still crumbly, until a firm dough has been formed.

3. Roll out the dough to about 1/4 inch thickness, dough might crack and crumble slightly just rework it as needed, and cut out rounds, place them on the prepared tray and prick gently with a fork. Bake for 10-12 minutes until hard. Transfer to a wire-rack to cool completely.

Filling

1. Beat everything together with an electric mixer, adding Milk if too dry, until a fluffy white Buttercream has been achieved. A firmer buttercream works best. Add more Icing Sugar if too runny.

2. Pipe a dollop of Buttercream onto a biscuit and place another on top, pressing down until filling reaches the edge.

4 thoughts on “Carob Oreos

  1. Pingback: Seeds And Weeds |

Leave a Reply

