Harlequin Squash, Sausage and Sage Stuffing

 photo WP_20160821_001_e_zpsznvqrh68.jpgIt’s rather colourful, isn’t it?

Okay, let’s start at the screw up and then never again mention it. The balls didn’t pan out, the stuffing was perfect other than that. Just follow the recipe and you’ll be fine. I never make mistakes, dearest reader, I merely travel a different path than the one intended. Okay, I make plenty of mistakes, but I try to learn from them. Thankfully this worked really wonderfully, it just didn’t get the crispy outside I wanted. So I used my knowledge from all the times I’ve used it as a topping for cottages pies and we’re good. Handy, huh? Now, there may be some confusion as to what constitutes stuffing, everything you know is wrong, the end. What? I was kidding…for all you know. This is my Mother’s potato stuffing recipe, the potato is replaced with glorious Harlequin Squash. Now, if you’ve never had an Irish Mammy, then you’ve never heard an Irish Mammy’s recipe. I have it typed out below, but it’s basically:

“Well, however much you want. How much do you eat? That’s enough, unless you want more. I have no idea”

Etc Etc, writing down recipe or exact amounts aren’t common methods with Irish Mammies. At least not mine. Thankfully it passed the test with her too. There aren’t a slew of Traditional  Irish recipes, I have a handful here and there, but it’s a problem of a lot of Traditional Food being so basic it’s near impossible to adapt to my diet or it comes from a packet and you can’t exactly replicate that. There’s always confusion to what we eat. Simple fare and foreign dishes seem to sum it up. Chances are you may have a weird idea of the Irish. I blame movies. This stuffing is a real Irish recipe, simple, but versatile. It can be a side dish, balled if you use potato, probably I’m not one hundred percent sure, and can be used to stuff a chicken or a breast. If you can eat potato just swap it for the squash. Other squash won’t work the same here. Not to say you can’t, they just won’t taste the same.

 photo WP_20160821_002_e_zpsqx9b7oig.jpgFoil trays because the kitchen is being renovated and it’s a holy disgrace.

The stuffing, like anything baked with this squash, is creamy and much too good. Sage and sausage really is a great combination. I think fresh is best when it comes to sage in this recipe, but you could try it with dried, reduce it to a third of what you’d use in leaves. It was really hard to get suitable sausages for me, I had to buy them in Marks and Spencer’s and they’re really costly. I can’t eat added starches, so it has to be all meat and little else. The availability of ingredients made this recipe a must try. I had fresh sage growing, harlequin squash cured and sausages in the freezer. That’s a rarity. As I say below you can grill the top for a crispy layer and you can ball it, but they won’t crisp up. They still taste the same it’s just messier than scooping it into a dish. This doesn’t freeze due to the sausage and sage. It’s nicest fresh anyway.

 photo WP_20160821_005_e_zpsrusvfoz5.jpgBack to helping with renovations tomorrow, so quick dinners it is.

Ingredients

125g Harlequin Squash, Cubed
1 Pork Sausage
1/4 Large Yellow Onion
4-6 Fresh Sage Leaves, Chopped
Salt and Pepper to Taste

Method

1. Steam the Harlequin Squash and place into a bowl. Set aside.

2. Chop the Onion finely and fry in Butter until translucent. Add the Sage and fry for one minute. Add the Onion mix, the meat from the Sausage, discarding the casing, Salt and Pepper to the Harlequin Squash and mash everything together.

3. Scoop mixture into a greased baking dish and smooth down. Bake at 200c (Fan) for half an hour. For a crispier top grill for the final 5 minutes.

Bonus!

 photo WP_20160821_010_e_zps0xab8ppl.jpgBuckwheat Muffins. Peanut Butter and Raspberry…that’s been in the freezer a while.

I ran out of muffin liners and as I’ve been having trouble with them sticking too I thought I should find an alternative. Other than flouring that is. I went to Google after a think and lo and behold, me close, heh, The Kitchn had an interesting idea. Making my own liners meant two things: Firstly I’d have them to hand at any time and they’d be less likely to stick. Mine were rough and did leave dents in the muffins, but they just unfolded when I took the muffins from the trays. Not one bit of stickiness. They take a bit of work to make, but one the whole it’s worth it. I just thought I’d share this as it was handy and actually worked, unlike a lot of tips on the internet. See you next time.

5 thoughts on “Harlequin Squash, Sausage and Sage Stuffing

  1. I have fresh sage, which is very rare in our household, I love my potatoes, the only problem no sausages in the freezer, but I’ll buy them later in the week and I will try this recipe, sounds like the dish I will enjoy, not too much meat, fried onions and potato – all the best for delicious comfort food.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

