Roast Cauliflower

 photo WP_20160811_007_e_zpsiwc9foib.jpg“This is art.” He screamed before shovelling the rest of the meal into the bowl.

Oh ho, what’s this? Albino Broccoli? Cauliflower? No, no this is Albino Broccoli, very rare and exclusive. Okay, maybe I’m lying. Or rather I am, but cauliflower is just so, meh, I wanted to spice it up for you. It’s all for you dear reader, it’s all for you. I’m currently trying out adding cauliflower to my weekly meals. I’ll mostly be using steamed, frozen cauliflower but I had to try it roasted as well. You can’t go looking for cauliflower recipes without falling over another for roasted cauliflower. Here’s another. Sorry about that. This is just my Roast Broccoli recipe now with a greater quantity and more time. It does make the cauliflower really tender, not all that crisp, but not that bad on the whole. I prefer the broccoli. I’m still reeling from the time I was told that steamed cauliflower tasted just like potato, oh, inexperienced maladjusted-tastebudded me, you poor soul. Now it just tastes of wet vegetable to me, I’ll try it for a while, I managed to stick with broccoli so maybe this will stick too. There are so many healthy foods I’d gladly eat by the bucketful but I can’t because, because life is just that unfair. Stupid intolerances, allergies and everything. Ah, well, we just carry on, right?

On the lighter side of things, the work on the greenhouse has resumed. I’m helping to put in the perspex and it’s more work than it should be because that’s always the case in this house. It looks good so far. I may have the tallest greenhouse in Ireland. It’s going to be a huge boon come next year. I’m currently buying bulbs, corm and tubers and then learning when to plant them, backwards I know, but there isn’t a whole lot to choose from unless you want to spend way too much. The greenhouse takes precedent and the bulbs will grow whenever they’re supposed to no rush. Oh, one final thing: My butternut squash plants have really taken to the wigwams, they’re huge and there’s an abundance of flowers starting to appear. Maybe I’ll get a butternut squash set yet. The weather is mild enough so the plants are still really healthy. It’d be a great test of the thirty-six litre pots to grow a whole butternut squash pant, fruit and all. The Jack posts will be less numerous in the coming months, but I’ll still keep you up-to-date on whatever plans I’m putting into effect. Now go forth and eat cauliflower.

Ingredients

150g Fresh Cauliflower Florets
2 Cloves Garlic, Grated
2 Tbsp Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper to Taste

Method

1. Pre-heat the oven to 200c (Fan) and line a tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Add the Cauliflower Florets to a bowl and pour over the Oil, Shake to coat, then add everything else and shake again. Tip out onto prepared tray and bake for 30-40 minutes or until Cauliflower is golden brown and is slightly crispy. Leave longer for crunchier Cauliflower, but be careful of burning.

3 thoughts on “Roast Cauliflower

Leave a Reply

