Nightshade Free Hot Curry Powder

 photo WP_20160810_001_e0_zps2isuhfir.jpgAdapted from here.

Ah, nightshade curry powder, not an easy recipe to find a second of. The first has a lot of optional ingredients whereas this is all or nothing. Naturally I had to tweak this a bit. I left out the paprika and cayenne, nasty, nasty nightshades, I added white pepper and used aniseed in place of the fennel. There’s a greater presence of warm spices in this than in the first. The other recipe tastes more like what I’ve been used to think of as generic curry powder. It’s handy, but does lack any pop. This has a strong taste profile, that’s sound pretentious, but it isn’t really hot, though for a nightshade free recipe it does fit the bill. I used it in my basic Chicken Curry recipe, I used two teaspoons just to really be sure I’d experience the taste fully. It was flavoursome, more so than the other. It’s still plain, but when you add vegetables, fruit or nut butters to it it will have a much better  chance to shine. It’s a really nice recipe, I might stick with this for a while. New nightshade  recipes are really rare for me, too many other limited food groups. I didn’t make too much as I wasn’t sure I’d need it, double up as needed.

 photo WP_20160810_005_e_zps863ahsfp.jpgWhy are they in a planter? Because…shut up.

Is this irony, potatoes in a nightshade free post? I know, but I grew those and promptly gave them all away. They went to people to whom I owed a debt of gratitude. I’m surprised how large they grew. The garden looks so bare! Oh, don’t go garden, I’m still here. The squash have no intention of stopping any time soon, at least it seems so. I’m almost tied to last year harlequin harvest, with less plants too. I did find something interesting in the potatoes, I almost killed it with a rake, I’ve never seen a dragonfly before. We even managed a really clear photo before it flew away. It looks so cool. Maybe it was a blessed dragonfly and by not killing it with a rake I’ve fulfilled some prophesy. Jack of the Blessed Dragonfly. Until next time.

 photo WP_20160810_002_e_zpsfbhky36o.jpgLook, it’s so cool! Now I want to see it fight Godzilla.

Ingredients

1 and 1/2 Tsp Ground Turmeric
1 and 1/2 Tsp Ground Cumin
1 and 1/2 Tsp Ground Coriander
1/2 Tsp Ground Ginger
Heaped 1/2 Tsp Ground Cinnamon
1/2 Tsp Ground Clove
1/2 Tsp Ground Aniseed/Fennel
1/2 Tsp Ground or Grated Nutmeg
1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder
1/4 Tsp Ground Cardamom
1/4 Tsp Ground Fenugreek
1/8 Tsp Ground Black Pepper
1/8 Tsp Ground White Pepper
1/8 Tsp Sea Salt

Method

1. Place all everything into a jar. Shake to combine. Store in an airtight jar.

4 thoughts on “Nightshade Free Hot Curry Powder

  1. So nice of you to grow veggies for others!
    ~ Here, at least in my area of the US Dragon Flies are also called “sewing needle” I remember one of my grandfathers teasing us, telling us it would sew our mouths shut if we talked too much 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

