Roast Broccoli

 photo WP_20160731_002_e_zpsyzoxqqty.jpgI grew three parts of this dish. No, I don’t mean the plate, the fork or the table!

Ah, reader, my constant companionable conscience, I feel terrible, I saw a fellow blogger with a recipe for roast broccoli, I can’t recall when, who, or where and when I finally bother to try it for myself I can’t find their recipe, nor can I at-least credit them for the inspiration. It’s not a big concern, but I’d still like to thank them. in lieu of that I’ll just say thank you, if you ever posted a recipe for roasted broccoli then this is for you! I feel that almost needs a dramatic flourish, but I’d probably fall off my chair if I tried. This is my quick, I would dirty but I cleaned that broccoli myself, take on roasted broccoli. I found it enough for one. It shrinks a lot. I used frozen blanched broccoli as it was all I had and it was the one I grew. I mention that a lot, but I’m like a proud parent. Roasting makes the broccoli far more appetizing than just steaming. It gets a slight crunch and it loses that mushy, vegetable texture. Nothing much of note here, I’ll have another recipe later today.

Oh, before I forget anything else, I remember what Sautéed Harlequin Squash is reminiscent of (I turn into a windbag when I read anything fancier than the norm, blame Virginia Woolf, I’ll return to stupid me later): Waffles! More specifically: Bird’s Eye Potato Waffles. I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of these, they basically reconstructed potato constituents formed into a lattice-work square, that may or may not constitute food. But back when I was a kid throwing up constantly because of my undiagnosed nightshade-intolerance I loved them. I was a kid and they were crunchy. The harlequin is exactly the same, crunchy to the extreme of joy and hiding an impossibly fluffy, melting almost, interior. No stomach troubles mind! I just microwave the cubed squash instead of boiling it. This is the second squash I’ve harvested. I lost another Golden Nugget to squash blossom end rot. Harlequin is the flakiest squash I’ve ever eaten. Don’t mix it up with Festival Squash, Harlequin is never orange!

Okay see you next post. Oh, today’s dinner, was Garlic sautéed Harlequin Squash, Pan-fried Chicken Breasts, Roast Broccoli and Buttered Quinoa.

Ingredients

100g Fresh or Frozen Broccoli
2 Cloves Garlic, Grated
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper to Taste

Method

1. Pre-heat the oven to 200c (Fan) and line a tray with greaseproof paper.

2. Add the Broccoli to a bowl and pour over the Oil, Shake to coat, then add everything else and shake again. Tip out onto prepared tray and bake for 20 minutes or until Broccoli has browned and is slightly crunchy. Leave longer for crunchier Broccoli, but be careful of burning.

4 thoughts on “Roast Broccoli

Leave a Reply

