Jack and I

 photo WP_20160719_002_e_zpsv58awpzc.jpgThe little one I spotted, the larger one I had no idea about. Great gardener, eh?

I often feel like these posts are similar to a multi-book series, not that I claim any great literary skills, no, it’s just that they often connect and I never know how much of a preface I should add. Ah, well, just roll with it and feel superior if you’ve happen to have already read a interconnected post. So if you haven’t already heard I am indeed Jack, or Jack is me, or we are us, ummmm, it started as a nickname to use in conjunction with gardening posts and just took over from there. I’ve become a Jack-of-all-trades thanks to all the work I’ve put into the garden. So, there you have it the mystery of what is exactly going on in these posts. It’s a bit of fun and if you’re ever confused then confide in me instead of chiding me. It’s all Jack’s fault any way.

 photo WP_20160719_039_e_zpseexz7gfr.jpgLazily mix the batter in the jug in a desultory fashion and then promptly fall asleep.

Okay, here’s what happened at the end: They stuck. Hmmm? This is fragmented story telling think Catch 22 (Read that) or Infinite Jest (Read that at your peril), or me admitting I messed up.. The batter stuck to the cheap liners, it’s a pain but the rest of the recipe holds. So don’t do that. Maybe if I’d greased the liners, or the tins or just made it as a loaf. That part was a screw up but the bread is, as always, fantastic. What bread? Why, this one! The same bread I’ve been fiddling with three times in succession already. You can’t go wrong with this bread, you can with the liners, but shush. I used raw courgette and the bread came out perfectly. Courgette is tasteless so it doesn’t add anything, but it was fun to try. Better than tossing it in the compost. I don’t like Summer squash that much, Winter all the way, botanically inclined reader. Check out the recipe page for the full guide. Thanks again to Cooking Without Gluten for the original. I used 150g peeled, raw courgette.

 photo WP_20160719_040_e_zpseinzhi3l.jpgWhat’s the point in showing you this, er, good point.

 photo WP_20160719_044_e_zps76yzvihy.jpgThey look lovely on top and taste great. That’s something.

“Oi Jack, you say dearest reader, wot ya been doin’ in the ruddy garden den?” What? That’s not what you sound like? Oh. Well, Jack has been harvesting. Cauliflower, I didn’t even see them until the heads had formed. Cabbage, only one left. Broccoli, so tender and fresh. broad-beans, never even knew they were growing. Of course the occasional courgette. I have Winter Squash nearly ready and garlic curing in the shed, so things are dying down and Jack is starting to plan for next year. I’ve gotten cheap wall troughs and I’m looking at flower bulbs for September planting. Strawberry runner to take too. Oh, I have mystery squash setting fruit, I’m now hoping they aren’t too large because they’re inside the trellis. I guess I should’ve tied the vine to the exterior rather than winding it around. Live and learn, eh? Peas are stilling growing, so are the Brussels sprouts. Yeah, it’s getting to the end stage for the most part, though there’s still work to be done. Yeah, okay, see you soon. Say goodbye Jack, wait that’s me. Heh.

2 thoughts on “Jack and I

  1. I have encountered the same paper liners effect in another type of batter without added fats – cottage cheese batter, when muffins with rice flour were impossible to separate from the paper unless muffins were left in muffin tray to completely cool down and the moisture condensation made the paper reasonably wet to be separated. Muffins in that case were not in their best condition. So it is not bad liners, it is the batter low in fat. Loaf liners usually have silicone layer and never stick. I personally don’t mind the crust and though it is an extra step to grease the tray, but muffins with crust all over are so much better than those from paper liners.
    Thank you for baking the recipe with another fresh vegetable, muffins look wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the advice, I appreciate it. I still have a few tweaks I’d like to try with this bread. I have a lot of broccoli and I’d like to try a fruity version too. I have no idea when I’ll get around to it, but I’m looking forward to experimenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

