Blend, Bake, Repeat

 photo WP_20160713_001_e_zps8rjffasi.jpgWe’re back once again to the amazing Bread from Cooking Without Gluten.

If you haven’t read the first part of this, the full recipe is here. Well, here we are again readers of mine, and again I’m dumbfounded. I promised that I’d try the good Doctor’s bread with some squash purée, though I wanted to use fresh courgette, squash blossom end rot ended that, so I used butternut squash in its stead. So why am I again astonished? Why? Why, reader with limited patience, because this bread baked wonderfully as expected, it even had more of  crust than before and the taste, why the taste wasn’t of squash. It just had a mild taste, no vegetable after-taste at all. Not that I’m averse to that in any way, I did make my own vegetable bread yesterday, yet here you have, or rather I have, a bread that can be made with multiple variations and still come out tasting exactly the same each and every time. That’s just magic, or rather an absolutely amazing understanding of ingredients. I wish to be this good someday.

 photo WP_20160713_002_e_zpsw2o8ztyq.jpgThis is the batter. Stick your finger into the screen…no, stop!

The prep work is the same, I steam the squash because it’s less watery than boiling and quicker than roasting. I haven’t found much difference between roasted and steamed when used in baked goods. You’re adding more moisture for the roasted version, but that’s about it. The batter has a nice elasticity to it. Flax is really underrated in gluten free baking, gums take too much precedent if you ask me. Vary it up is all I’m saying. Eat what you will. Just don’t be scared to change it up here and there. As far as changes in the bread, well, there aren’t many. A bit more of a golden hue is achieved when using squash, I did find the crust a tad crisper. Oh! I forgot to mention I tried frying the bread in butter, it turned golden, but didn’t crisp up like the Quinoa Bread, but it wasn’t at all bad. If you had some that was getting a bit stale then it’d be useful to freshen it up. I should make some quinoa flour again, but I’m being a bit lazy. One last thing: If you’re unsure of it being baked inside, test with a skewer diagonally and press down on the top, if it wobbles even when clean inside leave it for longer. A wobbly top can mean the centre isn’t fully cooked and it can be hard to tell.

 photo WP_20160713_007_e_zps34j5brts.jpgSliced hot out of the oven with minimal crumbs. No better accomplishment.

 photo WP_20160713_010_e_zpsjeev3jmv.jpgReady for freezing. Notice the absence of crumbs.

If you’ve been reading these posts, surely you haven’t been skimming?!, Not you O’ diligent reader, then you’ll know I’ve been a bit bored with food. So I’ve decided to try freezing some muffins and to not eat them all in a day or two, hey, I have self control issues, I’m just smart enough to know if it ain’t there then I can’t have it. But I figure muffins in the freezer beats defrosting pancakes for a snack all the time. I can’t buy anything to snack on besides fruit and nut butters and I eat those all the time already. So I did the clever thing and made nut butter and fruit muffins. Pffft. Yeah, I’m limited in my choices sadly, but combinations help allay the boredom. Food ennui, fun fun fun.

 photo WP_20160713_003_e_zpszi2tc4wh.jpgI should call the milkshake muffins. But they don’t have milk in them. Nor is it shaken.

So, again recipe is here, I keep sending you to the recipe pages because they usually feature a half dozen tweaks that you’d miss otherwise. These are the basic muffins, but I blended all the wet ingredients with 100g defrosted strawberries, this was two batches so half it for the linked recipe or double that, whichever suits, and mixed in 100g natural peanut butter at the end. I blended the strawberries because they’d get really mushy after being baked, frozen and defrosted. That and they’d just bleed everywhere and make the muffins fall apart when I prised them from their liners. I froze them in the liners. I was using brown rice flour to dust the tins, but when I swapped to a white and brown blend it was making them messy and soggy. Liners are convenient.

 photo WP_20160713_004_e_zpsh5dstm2h.jpgBlended purée muffins doesn’t have the same pop.

They bake the same as usual. The taste is what’s fun here. There’s a really lovely strawberry flavour running through, the nut takes  a back seat, but they both work well together. They’re also pretty filling. Sadly they do just come out brown, better than the grey of plain, non-nut muffins, but that’s natural with buckwheat. Add some beetroot juice if you want a splash of colour while keeping it natural. You will notice that there isn’t much rise, but a lot of baking powder is used. Buckwheat is dense, but these are nice and spongy so I guess there’s a reason for it.

 photo WP_20160713_008_e_zpsaocwglww.jpgNot one contains the same amount as another. It’s just for me so it’s fine.

 photo WP_20160713_009_e_zpsmwj6i4in.jpgThey don’t stick much to the liners.

One more repeat loaf and that should be me set for a while. You’ll see me again, hopefully sooner than later. I have my tattoo appointment tomorrow and I’m all excited nervous. I’m like a big kid. Alright, take care.

9 thoughts on “Blend, Bake, Repeat

    1. I should be thanking you for the recipe, it bakes wonderfully and tastes splendid. I’m going to bake this again and again in the future, hopefully I’ll have a squash or two from my garden for the next loaf. Thank you as always for your continued support.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

