Microwave Caramel Sauce

Story time. I woke to to a confusing scene. Two dogs, a terrier and a big German Shepard standing atop our oil tank. Yeah, oh, it gets better. The small dog fell off and yours truly had to to pick him up, a relatively strange dog, and pass him back to my friend the German Shepard, who kissed me because I’m the dog whisperer now. That was my day. I tell you, babies and dogs have a strange grá (So that’s how you spell that) for me. That’s it for the story of me. I have a recipe that I wasn’t sure would work and yet another that’s just a tweak, but I’ll list it in full here too.

 photo WP_20160622_024_e_zpsziue1ing.jpgI keep meaning to take better photos, but I just don’t have the skill.

Original recipe here. A really simple microwave sauce. It really makes a nice caramel sauce, handy if you have the ingredients to hand, but if you had to buy them you might be better going with a traditional sauce. This one was really hot coming out so I let it cool and it started to thicken really well. There’s not a lot to say, this is a really handy recipe, but the double cream does stop it for being a handy throw together, at least for me, I don’t often have double cream to hand. It makes quite a bit of sauce. I just poured it over pancakes with peanut butter. Microwave recipes can be really great, I’m often surprised. I’m not a snob, it’s just I grew up on rubbery scrambled eggs from the microwave and never knew you could make them in a pan until I was much older. We live and learn, eh?

Ingredients

2 Tbsp Brown Sugar
1 Tbsp Butter
1 Tbsp Double Cream
Pinch Salt

Method

1. Heat the Butter in a jug for 30 seconds and stir.

2. Add everything else and whisk together with a fork. Heat for another 30 seconds.

3. Heat for a further 15 seconds. Either serve warm or let cool for a thicker sauce.


 photo WP_20160622_022_e_zpsgi1q8mxw.jpgIt looks like it’s chocolate, but it’s not. Hah! I gave up chocolate years ago and I’m still bitter…

Ever wonder what happened to the other beet? Well, here we are. Carob and Beetroot Buckwheat Muffins, naturally a tweak on my own recipe. Listed there too. I was just going to do beetroot, but I wanted to mask the flavour somewhat. It does help, you can’t taste the beetroot as much, but you do end up with a browner muffin. The vegetable purée does help the muffins stay moist which is always a problem when it comes to carob. The beet helps to avoid that grey look carob sometimes gets when baked. This was pretty nice on the whole, I made them a bit sweeter, but you could adjust to suit your own tastes. I actually blended the wet ingredients in a blender as my food processor was too large for such a small bit of beetroot. Do whatever suits, as long as the beetroot is blended you’re golden.

 photo WP_20160622_023_e_zpsstcjvwgt.jpgThey were a bit flatter than usual.

Ingredients

100g Buckwheat Flour
1/2 Tbsp Baking Powder
1/2 Tbsp Butter/Coconut Oil, Melted/Olive Oil
1 Medium Egg
75g Roast Beetroot Purée 
50g Brown Sugar
15g Carob Powder
1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract

Makes 6 Muffins. Can be frozen.

Method

1. Pre-heat the oven to 175c (Fan). Grease and Flour (Use Brown Rice Flour) a Muffin tin with Butter.

2. Add Buckwheat Flour, Carob and Baking Powder to a large bowl and set aside.

3. Add the Egg, Vanilla Extract, Sugar, Roast Beetroot Purée and Butter to a jug and whisk until Sugar has dissolved then add that to the Flour mixture and stir together until fully incorporated. Add Water until a gooey, stirrable Batter has been formed.

4. Pour Batter into Muffin tins, about 2/3rds full and bake for 15 minutes, turning half way if needed. Then remove from oven and cool for 10 minutes and let cool completely on a wire-rack.

3 thoughts on “Microwave Caramel Sauce

Leave a Reply

